PUB OF THE WEEK: Victoria Hotel, Great Harwood

Lancashire Telegraph:

2:30pm Thursday 25th September 2014

THIS week I call in at one of the finest examples of an early 20th-century pub, a Grade Two-listed hostelry, with an interior that has remained virtually unchanged since its construction in 1905.

PUB OF THE WEEK: The Talbot Hotel, Burnley

Lancashire Telegraph:

1:54pm Thursday 18th September 2014

THIS week I call in at one of the area’s premier drinking dens.

PUB OF THE WEEK: Railway Inn, Pleasington

Lancashire Telegraph:

2:50pm Thursday 11th September 2014

This week’s pub review gives me extra satisfaction to highlight a pub, that was, until recently, looking tired, run down and in need of some tender loving care.

PUB OF THE WEEK: Craven Heifer, Rawtenstall

Lancashire Telegraph:

5:56pm Thursday 28th August 2014

IT'S been a while since I made a beery trek to the Rossendale Valley for the pub review — and a few of the natives I had spoken to had been a tad vociferous of late, reminding me of that fact.

CHEERS! Here’s my super six ale houses

Lancashire Telegraph:

4:20pm Thursday 31st July 2014

This week I have taken the liberty of swerving the usual pub review.

PUB OF THE WEEK: Griffin Inn, Haslingden

Lancashire Telegraph:

4:52pm Wednesday 30th July 2014

THE smell of malted barley was in the air as both me and beery compatriot Bob Fletcher approached this week’s selection for the pub review.

PUB OF THE WEEK: The Rifle Volunteer, Burnley

Lancashire Telegraph:

5:20pm Thursday 17th July 2014

THIS week's pub review calls in at a friendly, community hostelry that has been transformed in recent years. “The Vols”, as it's known locally, was a tired-looking and relatively run-down establishment up to a few years ago.

PUB OF THE WEEK: The Crown, Colne

Lancashire Telegraph:

3:33pm Thursday 10th July 2014

THE ecstasy and the agony of top-end sport was there for all to see at the climax of Wednesday night's big-match encounter in Colne.

Survivor of the great pub exodus

Lancashire Telegraph:

4:04pm Thursday 3rd July 2014

THE Adelphi is an historic Blackburn town centre pub in a prominent position with a very loyal customer base.

PUB OF THE WEEK: Coach and Horses, Burnley

Lancashire Telegraph: Coach and Horses, Burnley

2:40pm Wednesday 18th June 2014

THE Coach and Horses is a traditional pub I thought had been lost forever when previous owners Robinson’s pulled down the shutters and put this historic boozer up for sale nine months ago.

Review: Butlers, Blackburn Market

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: Butlers, Blackburn Market

12:45pm Monday 2nd June 2014

IT was a blistering Friday lunchtime and a spot of alfresco dining beckoned.

Review: The Old Function Room, Darwen

7:00pm Saturday 10th May 2014

FOOD has only recently started being served at The Old Function Room in Darwen and with a love of pub grub, it would be rude for me not to try out their menu.

Review: Brewsters, Oakenhurst Farm, Lower Darwen

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: Brewsters, Oakenhurst Farm, Lower Darwen

10:24am Tuesday 6th May 2014

HALF-term was coming to an end and we needed a venue to fill one rainy afternoon as well as some hungry bellies.

Review: Healy’s at Lily Mae’s, Accrington

Lancashire Telegraph: Dessert at Lily Mae's

5:00pm Saturday 22nd March 2014

DINING out in East Lancs can sometimes be a bit of a chore.

Review: Tiggis Ribble Valley, Clayton-le-Dale

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: Tiggis Ribble Valley, Clayton-le-Dale

2:00pm Saturday 15th March 2014

IT was getting late, in dining terms, on a Sunday night when I ventured to Tiggi’s Ribble Valley on the A59.

Review: Oswaldtwistle Mills’ Terrace Tea Room

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: Oswaldtwistle Mills’ Terrace Tea Room

11:20am Monday 3rd February 2014

AFTERNOON tea has become a popular treat; for foodies on a budget it is a special dining experience at a much lower cost than a three-course dinner.

Review: Debenham's cafe, Blackburn

2:30pm Friday 6th December 2013

WHEN we first reviewed several months ago it was in the first week of re-opening after the town centre department store had been given a multi-million pound makeover.

Review: Káva, Halifax Road, Todmorden

Lancashire Telegraph: Káva serves vegetarian food and great coffee

4:15pm Monday 4th November 2013

The man responsible for the excellent cooking at this little cafe is Dale Hibbert, who for a short time played bass guitar in The Smiths when they were just starting out.

Review: The Green Chimney Albert Road, Colne

Lancashire Telegraph: Colne’s Green Chimney

5:01pm Tuesday 22nd October 2013

Having heard nothing but good things about this quirky Colne eaterie I made a long-awaited trip to see what all the fuss was about. And I can guarantee my first won’t be my last.

Review: The Hungry Duck, Ramsbottom

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: The Hungry Duck, Ramsbottom

1:20pm Monday 23rd September 2013

TAKING advantage of a break between bands at the excellent Ramsbottom Festival, the better half and I came upon this little gem almost by accident.

Review: The Queen's Hotel, Accrington

6:01pm Friday 6th September 2013

This week we call in at a most popular Hyndburn Hostelry. The Queens Hotel is a pub I have never visited — and yes, I am sure that will come as a surprise to some of you.

Review: Hospital Inn, Bamber Bridge

6:04pm Monday 2nd September 2013

THE Hospital Inn is just the tonic you need after a hectic week.

Review: Molly's, Moor Lane, Clitheroe

5:41pm Tuesday 27th August 2013

GASTRO pubs and swanky restaurants are all well and good but no town centre should be without its fair share of decent cafes, the kind of establishment you can just call into mid-shop for a reviving brew or something more substantial.

Review: The Polished Knob, Todmorden

Lancashire Telegraph: The Polished Knob in Todmorden

3:37pm Thursday 22nd August 2013

The Polished Knob in the Lancashire/Yorkshire border town of Todmorden, has been getting lots of favourable comments for quite a while now — so it was time for me to go and see what all the fuss was about.

Review: Rawtenstall Cricket Club

6:03pm Monday 19th August 2013

CRICKET tea rooms really are the most hidden of dining out gems. Obviously they have seriously limited hours (only open in the summer and then only on match days) but if you can find one open, boy are you in for a treat.

Review: The Topiary Brasserie, Fence

5:44pm Monday 5th August 2013

THE last time we dined out, we ended up at McDonald’s and on the way home had to stop to deliver a calf when one of our cows got into difficulty!

Lancastrian with a passion for Caribbean cuisine serves up some treats at Blackburn waterside restaurant

Lancashire Telegraph: Nice and spicy:  David Wilson

5:26pm Monday 29th July 2013

AUTHENTIC Caribbean cuisine is taking off in Blackburn bringing communities from across East Lancashire and beyond together with the help of a chef with a passion for spice.

Review: Hark to Bounty, Slaidburn

Lancashire Telegraph: Hark to Bounty

5:20pm Thursday 25th July 2013

THIS traditional, historic, old English country Inn, is situated in the Lancashire village of Slaidburn, although, up until the Local Government Act of 1974, the pub was very much part of rural Yorkshire.

Review: Liz 'n' Lil's, Blackburn

5:50pm Monday 22nd July 2013

IN the heart of Blackburn centre is the pub-turned cafe that I had been eager to visit.

Review: The Three Fishes, Mitton

6:21pm Monday 8th July 2013

Ten years ago The Three Fishes at Mitton re-opened paving the way for a mini-revolution in eating out in East Lancashire.

Review: Craven Heifer, Kelbrook

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: Craven Heifer, Kelbrook

12:39pm Monday 1st July 2013

CLASSICAL pub food with a twist is becoming an oft-used phrase on menus of establishments which like to think of themselves as more gastro than pub.

Review: The Plate, Waddington

6:04pm Monday 24th June 2013

NESTLING in the depths of the Ribble Valley is the Plate, the cafe bar which is part of the Backridge Farm complex.

Review: Peel Park Hotel, Accrington

Lancashire Telegraph: The Peel Park Hotel

3:53pm Thursday 20th June 2013

This most popular and friendly Accrington pub could certainly be described as a ‘hidden gem’ — tucked away from the main road in to the town — and standing proudly opposite Peel Park - the former ground of Accrington Stanley FC.

Review: The Sparrowhawk, Fence

5:42pm Monday 17th June 2013

THE Sparrowhawk has long been a favoured destination for those seeking a country pub without having to stray too far off the beaten track.

Pub review: The New Inn, Clitheroe

Lancashire Telegraph: The New Inn

5:28pm Thursday 13th June 2013

Whenever I think of a traditional, real ale pub, this popular market town hostelry is always one that springs to mind.

Review: The Plough, Oswaldtwistle

Lancashire Telegraph: The Plough, Oswaldtwistle

5:57pm Monday 10th June 2013

In need of a hearty meal and with my dad in tow, I headed to the Plough, a pub I’d long meant to visit.

Pub of the week: Bridge Beer Huis, Burnley

Lancashire Telegraph: Bridge Beer Huis

5:42pm Friday 7th June 2013

I think it is quite appropriate to do my first pub review on one of the most popular ‘watering holes’ in the area.

Review: Blueberries, Clitheroe

6:05pm Monday 3rd June 2013

Nestled on the edge of Clitheroe Market, Blueberries is not your typical market greasy spoon.

Review: Spice Lounge, Rishton

5:26pm Monday 27th May 2013

THE mist swept across the moors as we drove towards Wilpshire on a bleak Saturday night but the Spice Lounge shone out like a beacon.

Review: Piccolino's, Clitheroe

5:51pm Monday 20th May 2013

THIS popular Italian restaurant, with its soft lighting, modern decor and busy, semi-open kitchen does not just offer a sophisticated dining experience; boasting an extensive cocktail list it’s a good place to start or even spend a night out too.

Review: Divine, Warner Street, Accrington

Lancashire Telegraph: Divine in Warner Street, Accrington

4:25pm Monday 6th May 2013

Divine caught my eye as an intriguing little coffee shop.

Review: The Willows, Blackburn

5:24pm Monday 29th April 2013

DINING out is usually a rushed or last minute decision in my world.

Review: Chiquito, Blackburn

4:34pm Monday 22nd April 2013

IT was a grey Friday, so the features desk decided to go ‘down Mexico way’ to find some heat.

Review: Mangiamo, Darwen

10:07am Monday 15th April 2013

I WENT to Mangiamo for my birthday — and not just because I wanted the waiter to walk out with a sparkler to the “Hey, Hey, Baby... Ooh... Ahh...” song.

Review: Debenhams Cafe, The Mall, Blackburn

2:57pm Tuesday 2nd April 2013

DEBENHAMS has just unveiled a multi-million pound refurbishment and extension to its Blackburn department store.

Review: The Carvery, Blackburn Market

2:00pm Saturday 16th March 2013

THE public area of Blackburn Market’s food hall may not exactly be the first choice when you are planning to dine out — but sometimes you just strike lucky.

Review: The Pavilion Cafe, Chatburn

5:37pm Monday 11th March 2013

A PREREQUISITE of any garden centre, out-of-town emporium or shopping village these days is a decent cafe.

Review: Turners, Barrowford

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: Turners, Barrowford

4:16pm Monday 25th February 2013

IS it a wine shop? Is it a deli? Is it a coffee shop? If truth be told Turners is all three under one roof.

Review: The Olde Spot, Higham

12:30pm Saturday 16th February 2013

THE Olde Spot is the new spot in town.

Review: Courtyard Bistro, Ace Centre, Nelson

Lancashire Telegraph: The Ace Centre in Nelson

5:25pm Monday 11th February 2013

THE humble mill town of Nelson has been in the news a lot recently after being ‘adopted’ by Mary ‘haircut’ Portas.


click2find


About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree