REGISTER NOW TO POST YOUR COMMENTS ON THESE STORIES

It's free and only takes a few seconds. Click here to go to the registration page.

Wheatus live - King Georges Hall, Blackburn

Lancashire Telegraph: WHEATUS

11:12am Tuesday 21st October 2014

It seems a crying shame for a band who only 15 years ago released such a hugely well received record and one particular tune of which consistently gets named in listings for the best pop songs of all time, that these days they are now playing to much smaller venues on their UK tour such as the Windsor Suite in King Georges Hall, and a quarter full one at that.

How to take inspirational photographs of some of Britain's finest scenery

Lancashire Telegraph: (11036879)

1:41pm Saturday 18th October 2014

PHOTOGRAPHING THE LAKE DISTRICT by Stuart Holmes, £25

Disney On Ice: 100 Years of Magic

Lancashire Telegraph:

12:15pm Friday 17th October 2014

NO matter how old you are, there is something about Disney that brings out the magic of childhood.

PUB OF THE WEEK: Cross Keys, Burnley

Lancashire Telegraph:

2:03pm Thursday 16th October 2014

MY destination this week stops off at one of the oldest pubs in the locality: an inn which, although rebuilt in 1905, originally dated back to around 1750.

Low level walks book perfect for those hunting area's hidden gems

Lancashire Telegraph: STEP OUT: New book is perfect walking companion

8:27pm Sunday 12th October 2014

Book signposts the way to Lakeland's hidden gems

Enchanting fireside book by a master story teller

Lancashire Telegraph: TELLING: A fireside book to enthral

5:12pm Sunday 12th October 2014

MIDWINTER FOLK TALES by Taffy Thomas, £9.99

PUB OF THE WEEK: STAFF OF LIFE

Lancashire Telegraph:

5:12pm Thursday 9th October 2014

THIS week, I plucked up a little courage for the pub review. I took the liberty of straying over the border, into the White Rose county.

A dystopian novel with haunting themes from a young Kendal writer

Lancashire Telegraph: (11292302)

12:22pm Thursday 9th October 2014

TREMOR by Ryan Mark, £8.99

Inspiring story of grit and heroic determination

Lancashire Telegraph: (10637998)

1:53pm Sunday 28th September 2014

HELMAND TO THE HIMALAYAS by David Wiseman, £8.99

Fascinating history of Leighton Moss revealed in new book

Lancashire Telegraph: (10638037)

11:49am Saturday 27th September 2014

LEIGHTON MOSS: ICE AGE TO THE PRESENT DAY by Andy Denwood, £7.99

PUB OF THE WEEK: Victoria Hotel, Great Harwood

Lancashire Telegraph:

2:30pm Thursday 25th September 2014

THIS week I call in at one of the finest examples of an early 20th-century pub, a Grade Two-listed hostelry, with an interior that has remained virtually unchanged since its construction in 1905.

BOOK REVIEW: Montgomery The Church Mouse

Lancashire Telegraph:

2:00pm Sunday 21st September 2014

MONTGOMERY THE CHURCH MOUSE by Jane Byle, £12.99 hardback

BOOK REVIEW: A Grass Rope to Catch a Unicorn

Lancashire Telegraph:

4:00pm Saturday 20th September 2014

A GRASS ROPE TO CATCH A UNICORN by Janet Rawlins, £20 in hardback

PUB OF THE WEEK: The Talbot Hotel, Burnley

Lancashire Telegraph:

1:54pm Thursday 18th September 2014

THIS week I call in at one of the area’s premier drinking dens.

BOOK REVIEW: Remember: I'm not a celebrity so you won't read this by D R Hall

Lancashire Telegraph:

2:00pm Sunday 14th September 2014

REMEMBER: I’M NOT A CELEBRITY SO YOU WON’T READ THIS by D R Hall, £8.95

The Biscuit Girls by Hunter Davies

Lancashire Telegraph:

3:00pm Saturday 13th September 2014

THE BISCUIT GIRLS by Hunter Davies, £6.99

PUB OF THE WEEK: Railway Inn, Pleasington

Lancashire Telegraph:

2:50pm Thursday 11th September 2014

This week’s pub review gives me extra satisfaction to highlight a pub, that was, until recently, looking tired, run down and in need of some tender loving care.

BOOK REVIEW: The Murder of Patience Brooke by JC Briggs

Lancashire Telegraph:

1:00pm Sunday 7th September 2014

THE MURDER OF PATIENCE BROOKE by JC Briggs, £8.99 ISBN 978-0-750954433

BOOK REVIEW: The Lake District by Arthur Mee

Lancashire Telegraph:

2:00pm Saturday 6th September 2014

THE LAKE DISTRICT by Arthur Mee, £9.99 ISBN 978-1-445642796

THE UNOBTAINABLE - A STORY OF BLUE by David de Lara

Lancashire Telegraph:

1:00pm Saturday 6th September 2014

THE UNOBTAINABLE - A STORY OF BLUE by David de Lara, £55

BOOK REVIEW: Postcard Messages From The Great War By Andrew Brooks

Lancashire Telegraph:

4:00pm Friday 5th September 2014

POSTCARD MESSAGES FROM THE GREAT WAR by Andrew Brooks

PUB OF THE WEEK: Craven Heifer, Rawtenstall

Lancashire Telegraph:

5:56pm Thursday 28th August 2014

IT'S been a while since I made a beery trek to the Rossendale Valley for the pub review — and a few of the natives I had spoken to had been a tad vociferous of late, reminding me of that fact.

48 Going on 50 - 1984 as it was for me by Audrey Wilson

Lancashire Telegraph:

2:00pm Saturday 23rd August 2014

48 GOING ON 50 - 1984 AS IT WAS FOR ME by Audrey Wilson, £20

All the ale and food boxes left ticked

Lancashire Telegraph:

4:50pm Friday 22nd August 2014

Well, it's good to be back in "Old Blighty", after a two-week jolly, beery jaunt in Brittany.

BOOK REVIEW: The Alone Alternative by Linda MacDonald

Lancashire Telegraph:

2:00pm Sunday 17th August 2014

THE ALONE ALTERNATIVE by Linda MacDonald, £8.99 ISBN 978-1783064335

BOOK REVIEW: Mr Nobody by Natalie Gordon

Lancashire Telegraph:

1:00pm Saturday 16th August 2014

MR NOBODY by Natalie Gordon, £6.99 ISBN 978-1-500464882

BOOK REVIEW: Hunting Scraps is an award-winning combination of art and social history

Lancashire Telegraph:

11:10am Thursday 14th August 2014

Charles James Cropper was a natural draughtsman who had a voracious love of drawing.

VIDEO: Reviews and trailers of the latest film releases this week

Lancashire Telegraph:

2:53pm Monday 11th August 2014

Damon Smith reviews the latest releases - Sylvester Stallone, Jason Statham and Antonio Banderas flex their muscles in The Expendables 3, and a talented table footballer learns to play the beautiful game for real in the computer-animated fantasy The Unbeatables.

BOOK REVIEW: A Boy From Glasgow Street

Lancashire Telegraph:

1:00pm Saturday 9th August 2014

A BOY FROM GLASGOW STREET by Norman Pascoe, £9.95

PUB OF THE WEEK: The Station, Cherry Tree

Lancashire Telegraph:

5:20pm Thursday 7th August 2014

APOLOGIES for a start if you have gone out today and paid your hard earned 65p to just read the fine missives from our master of all things real ale and public house Mark Briggs.

Wordsworth's Lake District by Howard Beck

Lancashire Telegraph:

12:00pm Sunday 3rd August 2014

WORDSWORTH’S LAKE DISTRICT by Howard Beck, £34.84

Northern Canals by Ray Shill

Lancashire Telegraph:

11:00am Saturday 2nd August 2014

NORTHERN CANALS by Ray Shill, £14.99 ISBN 978-1-445633190

CHEERS! Here’s my super six ale houses

Lancashire Telegraph:

4:20pm Thursday 31st July 2014

This week I have taken the liberty of swerving the usual pub review.

PUB OF THE WEEK: Griffin Inn, Haslingden

Lancashire Telegraph:

4:52pm Wednesday 30th July 2014

THE smell of malted barley was in the air as both me and beery compatriot Bob Fletcher approached this week’s selection for the pub review.

BOOK REVIEW: Fairynan's Flights of Fancy

Lancashire Telegraph:

1:00pm Sunday 27th July 2014

FAIRYNAN’S FLIGHTS OF FANCY by Dulcie Matthews, £6.99 ISBN 978-1-908098887

BOOK REVIEW: A Vicarage Changes Hands

Lancashire Telegraph:

4:00pm Saturday 26th July 2014

A VICARAGE CHANGES HANDS by John Ward, £6.50 ISBN 978-0-948655142

BOOK REVIEW: McDougalls and Gunpowder

Lancashire Telegraph:

1:00pm Saturday 26th July 2014

MCDOUGALLS AND GUNPOWDER by Dennis McDougall

BOOK REVIEW: Lancashire Folk Tales

1:00pm Sunday 20th July 2014

LANCASHIRE FOLK TALES by David England and Jennie Bailey, £9.99 ISBN 978-0-742489933

PUB OF THE WEEK: The Rifle Volunteer, Burnley

Lancashire Telegraph:

5:20pm Thursday 17th July 2014

THIS week's pub review calls in at a friendly, community hostelry that has been transformed in recent years. “The Vols”, as it's known locally, was a tired-looking and relatively run-down establishment up to a few years ago.

PUB OF THE WEEK: The Crown, Colne

Lancashire Telegraph:

3:33pm Thursday 10th July 2014

THE ecstasy and the agony of top-end sport was there for all to see at the climax of Wednesday night's big-match encounter in Colne.

Survivor of the great pub exodus

Lancashire Telegraph:

4:04pm Thursday 3rd July 2014

THE Adelphi is an historic Blackburn town centre pub in a prominent position with a very loyal customer base.

BOOK REVIEW: The Lake District - A Dog Walker's Guide by Peter Naldrett, £7.95 ISBN 978-1-846743214

Lancashire Telegraph: PET PROJECT: Guide to great dog walks in the Lakes

7:30am Sunday 22nd June 2014

THIS pet owners’ guide could prove a useful gift for those people who say that having a dog is the only thing that gets them out and about.

Shout! The Mod Musical - Accrington Theatre Group

Lancashire Telegraph: Shout! The Mod Musical - Accrington Theatre Group

4:26pm Wednesday 18th June 2014

DUSTY, Petula and Lulu were the faces – and more importantly – the voices of the 60s.

PUB OF THE WEEK: Coach and Horses, Burnley

Lancashire Telegraph: Coach and Horses, Burnley

2:40pm Wednesday 18th June 2014

THE Coach and Horses is a traditional pub I thought had been lost forever when previous owners Robinson’s pulled down the shutters and put this historic boozer up for sale nine months ago.

BOOK REVIEW: Lake District Icons

2:00pm Sunday 15th June 2014

LAKE DISTRICT ICONS by Michaela Robinson-Tate and Phil Rigby, £12.99 ISBN 978-0-7509-5910-0

BOOK REVIEW: The Yorkshire Shepherdess

Lancashire Telegraph: BOOK REVIEW: The Yorkshire Shepherdess

12:00pm Saturday 14th June 2014

THE YORKSHIRE SHEPHERDESS by Amanda Owen, £16.99

BOOK REVIEW: The Photographer's Guide To The Yorkshire Dales by Ellen Bowness, £12.95 ISBN 978-0992683412

Lancashire Telegraph: ICONIC: Pointer to best places to take landscape photos in the Dales

5:20pm Tuesday 17th June 2014

LAKE District-based publisher Ellen Bowness has turned her attention to the neighbouring Yorkshire Dales for this landscape photography guide.

Watchdog raps Chorley care home

Lancashire Telegraph: Care Quality Commission

12:00pm Tuesday 10th June 2014

A CARE home has been rapped by a watchdog after failing to meet more than half the essential standards that were examined during a recent inspection.

BOOK REVIEW: Special Forces Pilot

Lancashire Telegraph: Special Forces Pilot

10:10am Sunday 8th June 2014

SPECIAL FORCES PILOT by Richard Hutchings, £12.99 ISBN 978-1-473823174

BOOK REVIEW: The Railways of Carnforth

Lancashire Telegraph: The Railways of Carnforth

2:00pm Saturday 7th June 2014

THE RAILWAYS OF CARNFORTH by Philip Grosse, £25 ISBN 978-0-956970916


click2find


About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree