Lancashire TelegraphFood news, restaurant reviews and recipes from the Lancashire Telegraph

When news happens, text LT and your photos and videos to 80360. Or contact us by email or phone.

PUB OF THE WEEK: The Crown, Colne

Lancashire Telegraph:

2:39pm Thursday 10th July 2014

THE ecstasy and the agony of top-end sport was there for all to see at the climax of Wednesday night's big-match encounter in Colne.

PUB OF THE WEEK: Navigation, Blackburn

Lancashire Telegraph: PUB OF THE WEEK: Navigation, Blackburn

3:52pm Thursday 26th June 2014

THIS week's review leads me to a pub that has recently been awarded, Blackburn with Darwen’s Most Improved Pub, by the East Lancashire Branch of CAMRA.

PUB OF THE WEEK: Pendle Inn, Barley

Lancashire Telegraph: PUB OF THE WEEK: Pendle Inn, Barley

3:25pm Thursday 19th June 2014

THIS week’s review takes me to one of the finest examples of a quintessential English hostelry in the area.

PUB OF THE WEEK: Flying Dutchman, Padiham

Lancashire Telegraph: PUB OF THE WEEK: Flying Dutchman, Padiham

9:56am Monday 2nd June 2014

The Flying Dutchman, across from the Town Hall in Padiham, boasts lots of history.

PUB OF THE WEEK: Sir Henry Tate, Chorley

Lancashire Telegraph: PUB OF THE WEEK: Sir Henry Tate, Chorley

4:24pm Thursday 22nd May 2014

SOMETIMES the finest delights can occur at the most unexpected time and a random day out with a few mates can lead to a real discovery.

PUB OF THE WEEK: Arden Inn, Accrington

Lancashire Telegraph: PUB OF THE WEEK: Arden Inn, Accrington

2:32pm Thursday 15th May 2014

This weeks review has me stopping off at one of Accrington's most popular watering holes — a pub that bears all the hallmarks of a down-to-earth, friendly, town centre drinking establishment.

PUB OF THE WEEK: The Jubilee, Blackburn

Lancashire Telegraph: PUB OF THE WEEK: The Jubilee, Blackburn

10:56am Thursday 8th May 2014

This week I venture into territory that I would describe as, a real ale 'desert'. Unfortunately, Blackburn town centre is just that in my opinion.

PUB OF THE WEEK: Burnley Beer Shack

Lancashire Telegraph: PUB OF THE WEEK: Burnley Beer Shack

10:49am Thursday 1st May 2014

It has now been almost two months since East Lancashire's first micropub was opened in Burnley town centre.

PUB OF THE WEEK: The Old Chapel, Darwen

Lancashire Telegraph: PUB OF THE WEEK: The Old Chapel, Darwen

12:59pm Thursday 24th April 2014

LOVE it or hate it JD Wetherspoon has changed the face of Britain’s high streets.

PUB OF THE WEEK: Ram Inn, Cliviger

Lancashire Telegraph: PUB OF THE WEEK: Ram Inn, Cliviger

10:11am Tuesday 22nd April 2014

ON a glorious spring day, a rural location on the outskirts of Burnley drew my attentions.

PUB OF THE WEEK: The Commercial, Accrington

Lancashire Telegraph: PUB OF THE WEEK: The Commercial, Accrington

11:54am Thursday 10th April 2014

I do have to admit at the outset, that the beer festival currently being rolled-out by Wetherspoon's did influence my choice for this week's pub review.

PUB OF THE WEEK: The First Chop, Ramsbottom

Lancashire Telegraph: PUB OF THE WEEK: The First Chop, Ramsbottom

3:48pm Tuesday 8th April 2014

This week’s review focuses on one of the more quirky drinking establishments in the locality — a watering hole that is most certainly a ‘must visit’ for discerning beer drinkers and the real ale aficionado alike.

PUB OF THE WEEK: White Swan, Fence

Lancashire Telegraph: PUB OF THE WEEK: White Swan, Fence

12:40pm Friday 28th March 2014

IT’S a trek to a rural location, for this week's pub review — a destination that has long had an excellent reputation for both its fine cask ales and its home-cooked food.

Preview: Padiham beer festival

Lancashire Telegraph: Beer festivals are growing in popularity. this is Mark Jenkinson, landlord of the Royal pub in Tockholes, at the village’s festival last year

3:06pm Friday 21st March 2014

This week I feel duly obliged to swerve the usual pub review, in order to highlight a beery two-day celebration of fine cask ales in the locality.

PUB OF THE WEEK: Wellington Inn, Todmorden

Lancashire Telegraph: PUB OF THE WEEK: Wellington Inn, Todmorden

11:53am Thursday 13th March 2014

YET again it was clear blues, as I commenced my bus ride towards the Lancs/Yorks border.

PUB OF THE WEEK: Pub Royale, Great Harwood

Lancashire Telegraph: PUB OF THE WEEK: Pub Royale, Great Harwood

10:21am Monday 10th March 2014

MY beery destination this week, is one of Hyndburn's premier real ale drinking dens. Built by Thwaites in the late 19th century, it sits ideally on a main bus route — almost directly across from Great Harwood's Tesco store.

PUB OF THE WEEK: Number 39, Darwen

Lancashire Telegraph: PUB OF THE WEEK: Number 39, Darwen

2:47pm Thursday 6th February 2014

This week's pub review avoids the more traditional watering hole, as I call in at a contemporary-style bar in Darwen town centre.

PUB OF THE WEEK: Station Hotel, Nelson

Lancashire Telegraph: PUB OF THE WEEK: Station Hotel, Nelson

10:15am Thursday 30th January 2014

This week’s pub review leads me to my first venture to Nelson — and to one of the largest drinking establishments in the area.

Dublin’s musical legend lives on

Lancashire Telegraph: The Dublin Legends play on

4:25pm Thursday 23rd January 2014

THE death of the last founder member of The Dubliners, Barney McKenna, affectionately known as Banjo Barney, brought a natural end to the veteran folk group, one of Ireland’s most famous exports.

We’re faking a big impression

4:32pm Thursday 23rd January 2014

KASABIAN front man Tom Meighan reckons their doppelgangers, Kazabian, who return to Clitheroe’s Grand Theatre on Saturday, play so well they want them in one of their shows.

PUB OF THE WEEK: Swan and Royal, Clitheroe

Lancashire Telegraph: PUB OF THE WEEK: Swan and Royal, Clitheroe

4:19pm Thursday 23rd January 2014

For this week's pub review, I make a return to Clitheroe — and I have to admit that it was influenced by the glorious weather of the day, as I took a most scenic journey from Nelson bus station, travelling through the villages of Pendle and the Ribble Valley.

PUB OF THE WEEK: Jack’s House, Todmorden

Lancashire Telegraph: PUB OF THE WEEK: Jack’s House, Todmorden

4:44pm Thursday 16th January 2014

THIS week the pub review takes us to one of the oldest hostelries in the area.

PUB OF THE WEEK: The Wallace Hartley, Colne

Lancashire Telegraph: PUB OF THE WEEK: The Wallace Hartley, Colne

4:19pm Thursday 9th January 2014

This week my pub review has a slightly different slant as I head off to the January Sales — as well seeking out a local watering hole.

Review: The Horseshoe Inn

Lancashire Telegraph: Review: The Horseshoe Inn

2:39pm Thursday 2nd January 2014

My first beery venture of 2014 leads me to a traditional community boozer in the Ribble Valley.

Blog: East Lanacshire pubs of the year

4:06pm Thursday 19th December 2013

I Feel it is appropriate this week to swerve the weekly pub review, in order to highlight half a dozen of my favourite reviewed boozers for 2013.

PUB OF THE WEEK: Bootleggers, Burnley

Lancashire Telegraph: PUB OF THE WEEK: Bootleggers, Burnley

2:29pm Thursday 12th December 2013

This week I arrive at a former Methodist church in Burnley town centre, ideally situated across from the town's bus station.

PUB OF THE WEEK: The Abbey, Accrington

Lancashire Telegraph: PUB OF THE WEEK: The Abbey, Accrington

2:53pm Thursday 21st November 2013

THIS weeks’s jolly jaunt takes me to one of the area’s more traditional pubs — an establishment that still upholds many features and activities you associate with a local community boozer.

Whalley landlord’s video rap for budget alcohol

3:01pm Thursday 21st November 2013

BLACKBURN pub landlord Geoff Sutcliffe has backed the Government’s minimum pricing for alcohol proposals.

PUB OF THE WEEK: Alma Inn, Padiham

Lancashire Telegraph: PUB OF THE WEEK: Alma Inn, Padiham

3:04pm Friday 15th November 2013

THIS week my review heads off to Padiham and is focused on a small, historic hostelry, that is situated in West Street at the top end of the town.

PUB OF THE WEEK: The White Hart, Todmorden

Lancashire Telegraph: PUB OF THE WEEK: The White Hart, Todmorden

4:10pm Thursday 31st October 2013

THIS week I decided to visit a Wetherspoon's pub in order to see what was on offer at their October Beer Festival – and I have to say I was a little disappointed.

PUB OF THE WEEK: Hare and Hounds, Padiham

Lancashire Telegraph: Hare And Hounds Padiham

3:37pm Thursday 24th October 2013

This week I descend upon the town of Padiham and find a hostelry that, in my opinion, has changed quite dramatically in the last 12 months.

PUB OF THE WEEK: George and Dragon, Barrowford

Lancashire Telegraph: PUB OF THE WEEK: George and Dragon, Barrowford

10:54am Tuesday 22nd October 2013

This week's review is focused on a hostelry that has, let's say, experienced turbulent waters in recent times.

PUB OF THE WEEK: Molloy’s, Blackburn

Lancashire Telegraph: PUB OF THE WEEK: Molloy’s, Blackburn

4:57pm Thursday 3rd October 2013

WE head to a town centre pub this week, and hopefully along the way, dispel some of the popular belief that the centre of Blackburn, is a 'real ale desert'.

Pub of the week: The Crown Hotel, Colne

Lancashire Telegraph: Pub of the week: The Crown Hotel, Colne

4:57pm Thursday 19th September 2013

For this week’s pub review, I take a trip to Colne, and stop off at a popular and historic Pendle landmark.

Pub of the week: The Inn on the Wharf, Burnley

Lancashire Telegraph: PUB OF THE WEEK: The Inn on the Wharf, Burnley

11:26am Friday 13th September 2013

THIS week’s pub review has me meandering down the Leeds and Liverpool Canal — and stopping off at a most picturesque and historical canalside watering hole.

Review: Ramsbottom festival beers

6:07pm Monday 2nd September 2013

I felt it appropriate this week to swerve the usual beer review and instead showcase a few beers on parade at next week’s Burnley Beer Festival (September 5-7) I have selected a quality, quaffable quintet for you to sample at the festival – three local brews and two excellent tipples from outside the locality which you may not have had the chance to sample.

Pub of the Week: Jolly Sailor, Waterfoot

Lancashire Telegraph: Pub of the Week: Jolly Sailor, Waterfoot

4:04pm Thursday 15th August 2013

AHOY there! It is about time I set sail for the Rossendale Valley — and my port of call this week is, the Jolly Sailor in Waterfoot.

St Austell Tribute

5:47pm Monday 17th June 2013

A golden ale, with a pleasant citrus fruit aroma. Well balanced and produces a refreshing flavour of lemons and grapefruit.

Little Valley Ginger Pale Ale

5:47pm Monday 17th June 2013

 AT 4% this bottled-conditioned beer (secondary fermentation) is refreshing, crisp and zesty, with a lemony ginger aroma.

Review: Harviestoun Craft Brewed Lager

6:12pm Monday 10th June 2013

Ideal tipple for the warmer,summer months.

Review: Moorhouse's Vanilla Cream Ale

6:11pm Monday 10th June 2013

An easy drinking, 'session ale' at 3.9%. This straw coloured beer is light, refreshing and malty smooth.

Review: Chiltern Brewery Bodgers Barley Wine

6:09pm Monday 3rd June 2013

Surprisingly clean and refreshing for such a strong beer, and indeed it has a much lighter fruity character and less of a malt emphasis than many barley wines.

Review: Biddy Early Brewery Black Biddy

5:30pm Monday 27th May 2013

This stout is a very rich brew with a subtle sweetness, and a very nice dry finish.

Harvey’s India Pale Ale

5:57pm Monday 20th May 2013

This has more fizz and bite to it and is a similar complexion to Harvey’s Blue Label.

Durham Brewery St Cuthbert

4:32pm Monday 6th May 2013

Rich and full flavoured, worthy of St Cuthbert himself (he died 687 AD, btw).

Review: Darwin Brewery Ghost Ale

5:30pm Monday 29th April 2013

Pours a lovely golden amber, with a thick head.

Review: Little Valley Brewery Tod’s Blonde

4:38pm Monday 22nd April 2013

Produced in Cragg Vale, West Yorkshire, this is a bright yellow blonde ale with a pleasant malty taste and a smooth bitter finish.

Iceni Norfolk Lager

10:16am Monday 15th April 2013

Something of a rarity — an English bottle-conditioned ‘real lager’.

Joseph Holt's Thunder Holt

3:04pm Tuesday 2nd April 2013

Beautiful ruby-red appearance and a minimal, rapidly disappearing head which exudes a pleasant aroma.

Review: Enville Brewery Gothic Ale

5:42pm Monday 11th March 2013

This is a bottle conditioned beer and something must have gone slightly wrong — the head was too big and kept on rising — and the sour acid taste suggest a bad bottle.



TOP FIVE MUSIC CHARTS

Your local newsYourTelegraph


Your Say Your Telegraph



Essential links



click2find


About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree