QEGS hosts centenery gala

Brandon Kinder of St Wilfrids

Brandon Kinder of St Wilfrids

First published in Grass Roots news

QEGS proved to be the perfect hosts after they were crowned champion school at the 100th annual Blackburn and Darwen Schools swimming gala.

The Blackburn school won the title for an incredible 24th successive year to win the Yerbrough Cup.

To commemorate the special centenary event, Irene Ingham and Anne Howarth – two former OB parents and teachers who have contributed much to schools swimming over the years – presented the trophies.

Paralympics Team GB swimming director, John Atkinson, was also in attendance to see the QEGS team perform.

The school enjoyed plenty of team and individual success.

Goe Parkinson, Henry Hacking, Benji Carrera Knowles, Theo Roberts and reserve Ross Liddle were crowned freestyle relay champions: Christian Peel won the year seven butterfly title and Alex Atkinson did likewise in the year eight final.

In year nine, Goe Parkinson was front crawl champion with Theo Roberts taking the best stroke crown.

QEGS finished with a total of 126 points with St Wilfrid’s in second place with 106 points.

Third place went to St Bede’s with a total of 65 points with Darwen Aldridge Community Academy fourth with 56 points while Tauheedel-Islam Boys School amde up the top five with 36 points.

Westholme were sixth with 31 points and Pleckgate and Our Lady and St John’s wee equal seventh with 22 points.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree