Lancashire Telegraph sports quiz

Lancashire Telegraph sports quiz

Lancashire Telegraph sports quiz

First published in Sport

Every day we test your sporting knowledge with our just for fun 10 to tackle. Today it's a Lancashire League special to mark the start of the new campaign...

1 Tomorrow marks the start of the Foster's Lancashire League - but who were the first champions of the competition?

2 That club has gone on to win more titles than any other team but how many times has the championship flag flown over their ground?

3 When the league was formed it contained the current 14 members plus which other club?

4 Which club has won the Worsley Cup more times than any other?

5 Which bowler claimed his 1,500th Lancashire League wicket last season?

6 Of the 14 clubs just one has yet to win 1,000 matches. Which club?

7 Prior to 1930 'sixes' were counted as fours throughout the league. After a vote that winter which three grounds became the first to allow maxiumum hits to all sides?

8 East Lancashire were bowled out for just eight by which team in April 1900?

9 Ces Pepper, Vijay Hazare, Colin Miller and Chris Harris have performed what rare feat in the league?

10 With a total of 17,188 which amateur is the leading run scorer in the history of the Lancashire League?

Answers Monday

Yesterday’s answers: 1 Hunter Mahan; 2 Pat Lam; 3 Eggert Magnusson; 4 Henry Austin; 5 Tynecastle Stadium; 6 Clitheroe; 7 Salesbury; 8 Jordan Clarke; 9 Andy Holdsworth; 10 Leyland

Related links

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree