Blackburn and District cricket league honours a true gent

Zahur Waghat presents Len Rigby’s family with the Chairman’s Special Award

Zahur Waghat presents Len Rigby’s family with the Chairman’s Special Award

First published in Sport

THE Blackburn and District Amateur Cricket League held its annual presentation evening and there a poignant award for Len Rigby – the league’s loyal servant who sadly passed away in August.

Len, who served the league in every position was honoured with the Chairman’s Special Award which was presented to his family.

Chairman Zahur Waghat said: “It was very sad to hear of the passing of one of the league’s most loyal servants. The Chairman's Special Award is in recognition of Len’s dedication and service to the league for almost five decades.

“In that time he has served as a player, umpire and administrator. He will always be remembered as a true gentleman who was instrumental in making the league what it is today.

“Many of us had the pleasure of knowing Len – and his loss will be greatly felt by all. We plan to name one of our trophies in his honour for next season.”

Blackburn Eagles won the A Division while The B Division title when to Tham CC.

Manzoor Siddique of Eagles picked up the best batter award – an award he has now won three times.

The Knockout Cup was shared between Gujrat and All Stars after the final could not be played due to adverse weather.

Roll of honour

A Division - winners: Blackburn Eagles CC; runners-up: Gujrat CC; B Division - winners: Tham CC; runners-up: Super XI CC.

Knockout Cup -  joint winners: Gujrat CC & All Stars CC. Best batting: Manzoor Sidiq (15 ins, 4 no, 670 runs, ave 60.90); Best bowling: Waqas Yunus, (89.2 overs, 18 mdns, 222runs, 44 wkts, 5.05 av); David Pratt Bat Award: Manzoor Sidiq (128 no v B'burn Lions). Best Bowling: Imtiaz Ahmed (4 overs, no madns, 9 wkts for 4 runs); Sportsman of the year: Mohammed Shakeel (Super XI  CC); Hubert Briggs Young Player of the Year: Siraj Akhtar (All Stars CC); Fred Hart Wicketkeeper of the Year: Chandon. Badshar; Umpire of the Year: Ismail patel; Jim Taylor Trophy for Service and Merit: M Rizwan.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree