Lancashire Telegraph: Letters block Lancashire Telegraph: Forum block Lancashire Telegraph: Polls Lancashire Telegraph: Reviews block

Blogs and columns

Lancashire Telegraph: Jack Straw column Lancashire Telegraph: Margo Grimshaw column Lancashire Telegraph: Shuiab Khan column Lancashire Telegraph: Helen Mead column Lancashire Telegraph: Diane Cooke column Lancashire Telegraph: Sir Bill Taylor blog

Shuiab Khan: Boycotters seemingly have limits

Lancashire Telegraph:

1:50pm Friday 29th August 2014

I HAVE no problem with people wanting to boycott things if they actually stick with the boycott.

PUB OF THE WEEK: Craven Heifer, Rawtenstall

Lancashire Telegraph:

5:56pm Thursday 28th August 2014

IT'S been a while since I made a beery trek to the Rossendale Valley for the pub review — and a few of the natives I had spoken to had been a tad vociferous of late, reminding me of that fact.

JACK STRAW: Why try to shrink your country, Mr Salmond?

Lancashire Telegraph: Business leaders do not think Alex Salmond has made a strong business case for Scottish independence.

5:20pm Thursday 28th August 2014

Shouting at the telly. I know it’s the third sign of madness, but I still do it.

Diane Cooke: Let’s just trust that today’s energy researchers know what they’re doing

Lancashire Telegraph: Sir James Dyson. Photo: Eva Rinaldi.

3:00pm Wednesday 27th August 2014

POWERFUL vacuum cleaners are being banned by the EU from September 1 which means no more models with motors over 1600 watts (most top makes are 2,000) will be built. Adviser group Which? is advising those who want a turbo dust buster, to grab one before they become obsolete.

Sir Bill Taylor: Just bin it! Nostalgia isn't what it used to be!

Lancashire Telegraph: Sir Bill Taylor

2:57pm Wednesday 27th August 2014

We're pre "downsizing" "de-cluttering".

Nick Nunn wine column - August 25

Lancashire Telegraph:

12:10pm Tuesday 26th August 2014

Etoile de Mer Rose 2013, £11.99, Majestic

All the ale and food boxes left ticked

Lancashire Telegraph:

4:50pm Friday 22nd August 2014

Well, it's good to be back in "Old Blighty", after a two-week jolly, beery jaunt in Brittany.

Shuiab Khan: We all find this atrocity shocking

Lancashire Telegraph:

3:30pm Friday 22nd August 2014

Condemn or don’t condemn, either way you will be condemned.

DIANE COOKE: People simply can’t afford to feed themselves let alone animals

Lancashire Telegraph: D Cooke

2:55pm Wednesday 20th August 2014

A middle class town near where I live has been donating food from its foodbanks to a more impoverished area nearby.

MARGO: At least half of my clothes are unsuitable

Lancashire Telegraph: Ledbury Big Breakfast 2014

3:41pm Tuesday 19th August 2014

I HAVE just eaten a beautiful bacon butty. Is beautiful the right descriptive word, or should it be tasty, or succulent?

Nick Nunn wine column - August 18

Lancashire Telegraph:

3:51pm Wednesday 20th August 2014

Fontenoi Fitou 2012, £7.99, Tesco

Sir Bill Taylor: Our young people

Lancashire Telegraph: Sir Bill Taylor

5:10pm Thursday 14th August 2014

Hundreds of thousands of mainly 18 year olds got their A level outcomes this week.

JACK STRAW: We must help defeat the ‘Islamic state’ barbarians

Lancashire Telegraph: MP Jack Straw

2:58pm Thursday 14th August 2014

IT’S the strange thing about August. It’s supposed to be a quiet month, when folk take a holiday and get a rest.

From one generation to another

Lancashire Telegraph:

4:30pm Wednesday 13th August 2014

During the first World War Charles Richardson started as a despatch rider and then as an Infantryman narrowly missed going over the top with the Second Lancashire Fusiliers.

DIANE COOKE: Gratitude helps us to handle adverse life situations

Lancashire Telegraph: Diane  Cooke

1:40pm Wednesday 13th August 2014

THERE’S a trend on Facebook which involves declaring three positive things for five days and then passing the nomination to three friends.

Margo Grimshaw: Looking back with straight eyes

Lancashire Telegraph: Margo Grimshaw: It's true - I'm just a big liar

3:10pm Tuesday 12th August 2014

IDon't know about you, but as I get older I find that the little things that years ago I thought were not of any great importance have now become quite important. Like the ability to do quite simple things being able to thread a needle, or read the Telegraph without first having to find my specs. I really don’t know why I am so bothered, as I have worn glasses since I was three.

Nick Nunn wine column - August 11

Lancashire Telegraph:

6:00pm Monday 11th August 2014

Cordorniu Gran Cremant Cava 2012, £6.99, Co-op

Helen Mead: Seduced by the magic of France

Lancashire Telegraph: Photograph of the Author

4:10pm Monday 11th August 2014

THE wine, the cheese, the fashion, the language — what's not to like about France? Well, the cheese for a start — I hate the stuff.

VIDEO: Reviews and trailers of the latest film releases this week

Lancashire Telegraph:

2:53pm Monday 11th August 2014

Damon Smith reviews the latest releases - Sylvester Stallone, Jason Statham and Antonio Banderas flex their muscles in The Expendables 3, and a talented table footballer learns to play the beautiful game for real in the computer-animated fantasy The Unbeatables.

Sir Bill Taylor: This is the BBC!

Lancashire Telegraph: Sir Bill Taylor

11:41am Friday 8th August 2014

Had a couple of weeks in Spain recently. Love it, love Spain, the people!

PUB OF THE WEEK: The Station, Cherry Tree

Lancashire Telegraph:

5:20pm Thursday 7th August 2014

APOLOGIES for a start if you have gone out today and paid your hard earned 65p to just read the fine missives from our master of all things real ale and public house Mark Briggs.

Bill Jacobs: If we want real people running the country we must accept a bumpy ride

Lancashire Telegraph:

3:15pm Thursday 7th August 2014

WHEN I first worked at the House of Commons for the Lancashire Telegraph, roly-poly Tory MP Geoffrey Dickens was a figure of fun.

Diane Cooke: Kylie in the flesh was a bit too much

Lancashire Telegraph: Diane  Cooke

2:40pm Wednesday 6th August 2014

I HAD scarcely got my coat off on Monday morning when one of my colleagues from the sports desk asked my opinion of Kylie Minogue’s get-up for the closing ceremony of the Commonwealth Games.

Sir Bill Taylor: Oh, what a lovely war!

Lancashire Telegraph: Sir Bill Taylor

4:35pm Tuesday 5th August 2014

So, "the war to end all wars" began 100 years ago this week.

MARGO: The UK is still a force to be reckoned with

Lancashire Telegraph: Margo Grimshaw: It's true - I'm just a big liar

4:13pm Tuesday 5th August 2014

IN this week of remembrance, I keep hearing the phrase 'They shall not grow old, as we that are left grow old' and I think how true that saying is.

CHEERS! Here’s my super six ale houses

Lancashire Telegraph:

4:20pm Thursday 31st July 2014

This week I have taken the liberty of swerving the usual pub review.

Bill Jacobs: History shows it’s right to take a gamble sometimes

Lancashire Telegraph: POSITIVE MP Gordon Birtwistle

2:57pm Thursday 31st July 2014

POLITICS is all about opportunity and timing. Sometimes on a small scale as when Gordon Birtwistle was elected Liberal Democrat MP for Burnley in 2010.

PUB OF THE WEEK: Griffin Inn, Haslingden

Lancashire Telegraph:

4:52pm Wednesday 30th July 2014

THE smell of malted barley was in the air as both me and beery compatriot Bob Fletcher approached this week’s selection for the pub review.

Diane Cooke: Death’s not a topic to be avoided

Lancashire Telegraph: D Cooke

3:53pm Wednesday 30th July 2014

I asked my 80-year-old mum recently if she was afraid of dying.

Margo: Thrills and chills of a motorbike pillion passenger

Lancashire Telegraph: Margo Grimshaw: It's true - I'm just a big liar

4:41pm Tuesday 29th July 2014

SPORT! I am beginning to think that I am the most unsporting person.

HELEN MEAD: Chance to appreciate sisterly love

Lancashire Telegraph: Photograph of the Author

4:30pm Monday 28th July 2014

What is it about sisters that causes them to love and hate each other at the same time?

Nick Nunn wine column - July 28

Lancashire Telegraph:

12:32pm Monday 28th July 2014

Tinpot Hut Pinot Noir 2011, £14.99, www.slurp.co.uk, www.winedirect.co.uk, www.nzhouseofwine.co.uk

Saturday sermon: Gillian Beeley

Lancashire Telegraph: Blackburn Cathedral set for rush as Christmas carol season looms

9:00am Saturday 26th July 2014

So many good people, doing so many good things – quietly getting on with living their values and faith.

Shuiab Khan: These honking young drivers are a pain during Eid

Lancashire Telegraph: Shuiab Khan: Male-friendly zone would possibly tempt me to shops

3:33pm Friday 25th July 2014

THE Eid festival is to be held early next week and already we have the chorus of voices wary about the number of young people driving their cars at speed.

Sir Bill Taylor: Get organised?

Lancashire Telegraph: Sir Bill Taylor

11:12am Friday 25th July 2014

I love "organisations". Sometimes a misnomer! I've been a member of many going back 40-50 years, led a few.

Diane Cooke: This man turned dog poo vigilante

Lancashire Telegraph: WGC Dog Poo Bins Raided: Who Flung Dung?

2:21pm Wednesday 23rd July 2014

I GOT talking to an irate dog walker in the park last week. He was ranting about a woman who allows her dog to poo outside his front gate without ever picking it up.

Margo: Did I imagine those long hot summers?

Lancashire Telegraph: Margo Grimshaw: It's true - I'm just a big liar

4:20pm Tuesday 22nd July 2014

I AM beginning to wonder if those long hot days of summer that I so vividly recall from my childhood are just figments of my imagination.

HELEN MEAD: Adults need lessons in manners

Lancashire Telegraph: Evening Press columnist Helen Mead. (5189310)

5:13pm Monday 21st July 2014

I’ve just read a teens’ guide to good manners.

Faith Education

Lancashire Telegraph: The Dean of Blackburn, the Very Rev Christopher Armstrong

11:50am Monday 21st July 2014

For some of us this headline is a red rag to a bull but the Channel 4 ‘Despatches’ documentary screened on Monday night was certainly not.

Nick Nunn wine column: July 21

Lancashire Telegraph:

11:40am Monday 21st July 2014

McGuigan The Semillon Blanc 2012, £8.99, Morrisons

Shuiab Khan: Leave us alone and let us enjoy the good weather

Lancashire Telegraph: Weekend weather: cloudy tomorrow but glorious sunshine on Sunday

1:54pm Friday 18th July 2014

WE must be the only country in the world which, after getting one day of great weather, tells people to stay indoors.

PUB OF THE WEEK: The Rifle Volunteer, Burnley

Lancashire Telegraph:

5:20pm Thursday 17th July 2014

THIS week's pub review calls in at a friendly, community hostelry that has been transformed in recent years. “The Vols”, as it's known locally, was a tired-looking and relatively run-down establishment up to a few years ago.

Jack Straw: Don’t believe the jibes about lazy MPs: we’re workaholics

Lancashire Telegraph: Jack Straw

2:45pm Thursday 17th July 2014

With Parliament stopping for its six-week summer break next week, I guarantee the usual rash of headlines about “Britain’s lazy MPs”.

Sir Bill Taylor: What's in a Name?

Lancashire Telegraph: Sir Bill Taylor

10:13am Thursday 17th July 2014

SOME years ago, sat in a grand old town hall, Sheffield, I think, I noticed the list of former Lord Mayors:- Herberts, Percivals, Henrys even Williams.

Diane Cooke: At what age can parents stop worrying about their kids?

Lancashire Telegraph: D Cooke

2:30pm Wednesday 16th July 2014

Question: At what age can parents stop worrying about their kids? Is it when they finish school, leave home or become parents themselves?

MARGO: I’m a radio fan – I watch it all the time

Lancashire Telegraph: Margo Grimshaw: It's true - I'm just a big liar

3:31pm Tuesday 15th July 2014

I WONDER why it is that people have dogs? All my life I have always lived in a house where we have had a dog.

A wage to live on

Lancashire Telegraph:

10:20am Monday 14th July 2014

THIS week’s strikes by public sector workers, angry at a 1% pay offer after years of pay freezes, has reminded me of the scandal of low pay and the call for all workers to be paid a living wage.

Nick Nunn wine column: July 14

Lancashire Telegraph:

10:15am Monday 14th July 2014

Piccini Chianti Classico Riserva 2009, £11.49, Morrisons

Shuiab Khan: A drubbing - but Brazil have won the cup five times

Lancashire Telegraph:

2:30pm Friday 11th July 2014

SOME people find it so fulfilling to gloat at someone’s misfortune.

PUB OF THE WEEK: The Crown, Colne

Lancashire Telegraph:

3:33pm Thursday 10th July 2014

THE ecstasy and the agony of top-end sport was there for all to see at the climax of Wednesday night's big-match encounter in Colne.



Your local newsYourTelegraph


Your Say Your Telegraph



Essential links



click2find


About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree