FORMER councillors Marlene Haworth and Janet Storey were awarded the title of Honorary Alderman of the Borough at last Thursday’s Council meeting, to acknowledge their eminent services as past members of the Council and past Mayors of the Borough.

Marlene Haworth represented St. Oswald’s ward from 2004 – 2016 and was Mayor during 2015/16.

Janet Storey represented Clayton-le-Moors ward from 1998 – 2002 and 2003 – 2011 and was Mayor during 2005/06.

Council Leader, Coun Miles Parkinson, said; “On behalf of the whole Council I want to say a big thanks to Marlene and Janet who both served their communities well, with passion and dedication. They also both served the Borough as Mayor with huge aplomb, Janet during 2005/06 and Marlene during 2015/16, raising lots of money for local good causes during their respective Mayoral years."