HUNDREDS of primary school pupils got to test out their track and field skills at a packed Witton Park.

Young athletes across Blackburn and Darwen, cheered on by team-mates and teachers, battled for borough honours in a series of events.

Pupils took part in disciplines ranging from sprint to long distance on the track and the cricket ball throw to triple jump in the field.

And honours were shared out among the competing schools.

In the 700m event, the longest track event of the day, Amy Davies from St Peter’s showed great stamina to run in first in the year five/six race on the near two-lap event.

Natasha Pim from Shadsworth was runner-up with Nicole Dale from Wensley Fold in third place.

In the boys year five/six event, Tom Midgley of Balderstone finished in first place with Tom Voce of Redeemer in second place. Salesbury’s Thomas Wilson was third.

In the 60m sprints, Kate Cookson of Balderstone won the year three race with Sienna Smith (Holy Souls) and Ellie-Mai Dury (Shadsworth) second and third respectively.

Molly Burch of Holy Souls was the Year Four winner with Mia Hulme of Feniscowles second and Madison Walls from Lower Darwen third.

The year five and six runners sprinted over 80m course. In the girls Year Five race, Freya Dawns of Shadsworth was first with Courtlan Rowe of St Gabriels second and Molly Moore of Westholme third.

Julie Matthew of QEGS was the Year Six winner with Ella Astley of SLSP second and Annabelle Holden of Redeemer third.

Jayden Brammer of St Peter’s was first home in the boys Year Four 60m sprint final beating Mohammed Hussain of Lammack in to second place while St Gabriel’s Connor March third.

In the Year Three event, Ethan Eccleston of Feniscowles was too quick for his rivals with Umar Ahmed of QEGS second and Isaac Butler of Redeemer third.

In the relays, St Peter’s girls and Feniscowles boys were among the winning teams.

In the throwing events, the records in both the boys cricket ball throw and the girls rounders throw were not troubled by the eventual winners.

Oliver Rawson from Salesbury won the cricket ball event with a distance of 49.88m - some way short of the 68.70m thrown by Fawad Hussain of St Silas in 2002.

Aadil Ifzal of Audley was second with 48.79m with Reece Cross of St Peters third with 42.72m.

In the girls rounders event, Vanessa Pauce of Audley won with a throw of 34.76m again some distance short of the 45.35m record by Amber Jordan of Westhome - a record that has stood for 16 years.

Sidrah Imran of Roe Lee was second with 33.37m and Jessica Toase of St Gabriels third with 32.47m.

In the standing triple jump, Matthew Ninan’s leap of 6.01m was good enough to give the Westholme pupil victory.

It was a great effort but just short of William Blackledge’s record breaking leap of 6.60m set by the Redeemer pupil two years previous.

Joseph Pim of Shadsworth was second with 5.81m and George Morgan of St Gabriel’s third with 5.71m.

In the girls event, Eleanor Jorgensen of Salesbury won with a leap of 5.62m - just under half a metre short of the 6.04m record jointly set by Caroline Hitchen (St Annes) and Kimberley Kirkpatrick (Roman Road).

Phoebe Walsh (Holy Souls) was second with 5.46m was second with Rachel Commissiong (St Pauls) third with 5.26m.

In the long jump, Adam Wharton of Salesbury won with 3.63m beating Alexsander Gialon of St Anthony’s (3.62m) by just one centimetre!

Tyler Lynch of St Mary and St Joseph’s was third with 3.26m QEGS’ Simon Begg’s record leap of 4.12m, set back in 1996, stands for another year.

And Hannah Whittaker’s 3.79m distance set by the Westholme pupil back in 1997 still stands after Anna Dabrowska of Holy Souls won with a distance of 3.08m.

Emmi Walmsley of Salesbury was second with 2.75m and Ola Gluc of St Peter’s was third with 2.72m.