BLACKBURN Rovers beat Hong Kong champions Kitchee 3-0 this morning to secure third place in the Premier League Asia Trophy.

A first half header from Mauro Formica was added to by David Dunn and Nick Blackman after the break, as Rovers recovered from a sluggish start to finishing resounding winners.

Rovers started slowly against the Hong Kong champions, although Brett Emerton did see a shot cleared off the line on nine minutes.

Kitchee should have taken the lead on 23 minutes after a sloppy pass by Steven Nzonzi caught Martin Olsson out and the Swede clumsily brought down their striker in the penalty area.

Kitchee's Ubay stepped up to the penalty spot confidently enough but could only slam the ball over the cross bar to Rovers' relief.

Rovers finally started to get into their stride, after a very tired looking opening half an hour and took the lead on 35, after a well-worked move.

Formica worked the ball out to Emerton on the right and the Australian's inviting cross was headed into the net from close range by the Argentine.

Martin Olsson then saw a volley parried wide by Kitchee goalkeeper as Rovers ended the half brighter.

With Ruben Rochina and Nick Blackman on for Brett Emerton and Jason Roberts at the break, Rovers continued to struggle in the sweltering heat of Hong Kong.

Morten Gamst Pedersen almost doubled Rovers' lead with a close-range header, although Kitchee went closer several times with long distance shots.

Rovers doubled their lead on 70 minutes, when Dunn bent in a stunning 20-yard free kick, after Rochina had been fouled on the edge of the area.

Nick Blackman made it 3-0 from the penalty spot late on, having been brought down himself, to secure Rovers' third place in the tournament.

Rovers: Mark Bunn, Michel Salgado (Zac Aley 87), Grant Hanley, Gael Givet, Martin Olsson, Brett Emerton (Ruben Rochina 46), Steven Nzonzi (Vince Grella 62), David Dunn (Myles Anderson 82), Morten Gamst Pedersen, Mauro Formica (Adam Henley 82), Jason Roberts (Nick Blackman 46). Sub not used: Jake Kean.

Kitchee: Wang, Recio, Cancela, Luzardo, Gao, Liang, Guerrero, Tarres, Huang, Losada, Tsan.