Rovers’ new-look side expected for next season is yet to materialise, with no fresh faces through the door this summer.

Joe Rothwell was the first addition last year and along with Chelsea loanee Kasey Palmer, was one of just two new recruits in the matchday squad for the opening game at Ipswich.

Neither started however, meaning all 11 players at Portman Road had been at the club the previous season. In fact, there was just one change from the side which signed off 2017/18 as an injured Bradley Dack returned in place of Adam Armstrong.

As things stand, the majority of the team which played on the final day against Swansea would likely expect to be in the starting line-up on the first day.

Daragh Lenihan, Amari’i Bell, Lewis Travis, Bradley Dack and Danny Graham seem almost shoo-ins, while David Raya and Charlie Mulgrew would fancy their chances of a recall.

Life in League One started with defeat at Southend United, three months on from relegation from the Championship. From that side, Elliott Ward, Jason Lowe and Danny Guthrie were released, while Sam Gallagher’s loan spell came to an end.

Their replacements were all new signings, as Richie Smallwood, Peter Whittingham, Bradley Dack and Dominic Samuel came in to the side. That is the most new faces to feature in a starting line-up since Rovers’ relegation from the Premier League.

Owen Coyle’s first game as boss was one to forget, a 4-1 home defeat by Norwich.

There were two new signings included, as Liam Feeney and Hope Akpan came in to the side, as part of five changes in all with recalls for Adam Henley, Elliott Ward and Jason Lowe.

From the final game of 2015/16, Grant Hanley had been sold to Newcastle, Matt Kilgallon released, while Jordi Gomez and Matt Grimes’ loans had ended.

The most changes made on an opening day came in 2015/16, a 2-1 home defeat by Wolves.

Only two new signings, Danny Guthrie and Nathan Delfouneso were included, with recalls for Grant Hanley, Shane Duffy, Ben Marshall and Jason Lowe as Tommy Spurr, David Dunn and Rudy Gestede having moved on to pastures new.

There were just two changes, and one new signing, involved on the opening day in 2014/15, a Friday night draw with Cardiff.  Alex Baptiste was the new face, replacing the outgoing Michael Keane, while Josh King got the nod over Jason Lowe.

Three new signings were part of five changes as Rovers started the 2013/14 season at Derby.

Tommy Spurr, Alex Marrow and Alan Judge, the latter two making their second ‘debuts’ for the club, while Jason Lowe and Ruben Rochina were recalled.

Of the team which signed off 2012/13, Grzegorz Sandomierski, Josh Morris, Morten Gamst Pedersen and David Jones had all left that summer.

There were were four new faces in the team as Rovers started life post Premier League at Ipswich.

New signings Dickson Etuhu, Danny Murphy, Nuno Gomes and Colin Kazim-Richards were all handed their debuts, with Bradley Orr and Jason Lowe having been recalled. Martin Olsson, Junior Hoilett and Yakubu had moved on after relegation.