BURNLEY AC’S Gary Shaw just missed out on victory in a thrilling Wholan Nook Trail Race as Stoke’s Marc Hartley won by six seconds.

Hartley crossed the line in 24 minutes and 22 seconds to take the top honours in the third event of the Pendle & Burnley Grand Prix Series.

But he was pushed all the way by Shaw who finished second and was the fastest M40 in 24mins 28secs.

Barlick Fell Runners’ Jimmy Craig was third (24mins 52secs), Trawden AC’s Chris Singleton fourth (25mins 9secs) and Blackburn Harriers’ Andy Buttery fifth (25mins 21secs).

Hot on their heels were a quartet of Clayton-le-Moors Harriers members, Spencer Riley (sixth in 25mins 33secs), Chris Holdsworth (seventh in 25mins 47secs), Tom Brewster (eighth in 25mins 52secs) and fastest M45 Andrew Stubbs (25mins 54secs).

Three more Clayton-le-Moors Harriers followed, Matt Perry (12th in 26mins 23secs), Breton Holdsworth (13th in 26mins 46secs) and Lee Smith (17th in 27mins 31secs), while there were also top-20 finishes for Blackburn Harriers’ Shaun Livesey (11th in 26mins 13secs) and Michael Toms (20th in 27mins 45secs), Trawden AC’s Nicholas Cook (15th in 27mins 21secs), Rossendale Harriers’ Sean Molloy (16th in 27mins 29secs), Darwen Dashers’ Paul Brindle (18th in 27mins 33secs) and Barlick Fell Runners’ Daniel Taylor (19th in 27mins 38secs).

Amy Green, of Keighley & Craven AC, was the fastest female in 32nd overall in 29mins and 2secs, followed by Trawden AC duo Christina Singleton (40th overall in 30mins 1sec) and Autumn Howard (56th overall in 31mins 50secs) in second and third respectively.

The other age male group prizes went to the unattached Kieran Horrigan (fastest M50 and 14th overall in 27mins 2secs), Rossendale Harriers’ Thornton Taylor (fastest M55 and 28th overall in 28mins 31secs), Clayton-le-Moors Harriers’ Steve Biscomb (fastest M60 and 51st overall in 31mins 17secs) and Rossendale Harriers’ Ken Taylor (fastest M65 and 53rd overall in 31mins 29secs).

The female age group prizes went to Rachel Brooks (fastest F35 and 81st overall in 33mins 57secs), Trawden AC’s Nicola Nuttall (fastest F40 and 77th overall in 33mins 32secs), Skipton AC’s Jayne Butterworth (fastest F45 and 71st overall in 33mins 8secs), the unattached Deborah Toms (fastest F50 and 130th overall in 45mins 12secs), Clayton-le-Moors Harriers’ Irene Roche (fastest F55 and 86th overall in 34mins 22secs), Barlick Fell Runners’ Jean Rawlinson (fastest F60 and 109th overall in 38mins 29secs), Trawden AC’s Jean Baistow (fastest F65 and 113th overall in 39mins 17secs) and Clayton-le-Moors Harriers’ Marion Wilkinson (fastest F70 and 128th overall in 43mins 14secs).