MATTHEW Lalor raced to victory at the East Lancashire Hospice 10k Trail Race on Sunday.

The Blackburn Harriers ace crossed the line in 34 minutes and 25 seconds to take the top prize.

Trawden AC’s Chris Singleton was second in 34mins 56secs and Todmorden Harriers’ Nick Barber third in 35mins 10secs.

Ian Jackson, of Salford Harriers, was the fastest MV45 and fourth overall in 36mins 11secs followed by Matt Perry, of Clayton-le-Moors Harriers, in fifth in 37mins 8secs.

Perry’s clubmate Tom Brewster was a second behind in sixth (37mins 9secs), while there were also top 10 finishes for Trawden AC’s Dave Potter (ninth in 37mins 53secs) and Accrington Road Runners’ Karl Smith (10th in 37mins 58secs), whose clubmate Graham Morris (11th in 38mins 9secs) was one place behind.

Dominic Howell (unattached) followed up in 12th in 38mins 25secs, meaning he claimed the MV40 prize.

He was closely followed by Joanne Nelson.

The Darwen Dashers star rounded the course in 38mins 30secs to ensure she was the fastest woman – and therefore the winner of the LV40 age category too – in 13th overall.

Paul Gallagher, of Accrington Road Runners, was the fastest MV50 and 14th overall in 38mins 43secs.

His clubmate Chris Walton was the second woman home and 20th in 39mins 46secs.

Walton was not the only prize winner from East Lancashire clubs.

The MV60 prize went to Blackburn Harriers’ Evan Cook (27th in 40mins 36secs), the LV45 prize to Accrington Road Runners’ Deborah Gowans (40th and the third-fastest woman in 42mins 6secs), the LV35 prize to Accrington Road Runners’ Julie Brady (50th in 42mins 53secs), and the MV70 prize to Clayton-le-Moors Harriers’ Richard Lawson (186th in 55mins 29secs).

Martin Oldfield, of Darwen Dashers, was 15th in 38mins 55secs, Chris Halstead, of Accrington Road Runners, was 16th in 39mins 26secs, while Joseph Waller led the Rossendale Harriers charge in 17th in 39mins 38secs.

Daniel Isherwood was Blackburn Road Runners’ first member home in 26th (40mins 33secs).

David Moynihan (61st in 43mins 59secs) claimed the same honour for Hyndburn AC.

A total of 276 runners finished the race, which is staged to raise funds for the East Lancashire Hospice.

It was organised by Gaskell Motor Bodies and Clayton-le-Moors Harriers, with the trail route covering Great Harwood, Clayton-le-Moors and Rishton.