Rovers will make the trip to League Two outfit Harrogate Town in the second round of the Carabao Cup.

Jon Dahl Tomasson’s side edged a seven-goal thriller against Walsall in the opening round at Ewood Park thanks to goals from Zak Gilsenan, Niall Ennis, Jake Garrett and John Buckley.

Rovers reached the fourth round last season and also progressed to the quarter-final of the FA Cup.

Meanwhile, Burnley face a trip to the City Ground to take on Nottingham Forest in an all-Premier League tie.

The draw was carried out by former Leicester defender Wes Morgan and ex-Aston Villa boss Martin O’Neill.

The competition remains regionalised at this stage, with separate draws taking place for the northern and southern sections.

A number of top flight clubs enter the competition in the second round including the likes of Chelsea and Tottenham.

All second-round fixtures are currently scheduled to take place on Tuesday, August 30 and Wednesday, August 31.

Here is the Carabao Cup second-round draw in full

Northern section

  • Tranmere Rovers v Leicester City
  • Salford City v Leeds United
  • Harrogate Town v Rovers
  • Stoke City v Rotherham United
  • Wrexham v Bradford City
  • Doncaster Rovers v Everton
  • Bolton v Middlesbrough
  • Port Vale v Crewe Alexandra
  • Nottingham Forest v Burnley
  • Sheffield Wednesday v Mansfield Town
  • Wolverhampton Wanderers v Blackpool
  • Sheffield United v Lincoln City

Southern section

  • Bristol City v Queens Park Rangers or Norwich City
  • Plymouth Argyle v Crystal Palace
  • Reading v Ipswich Town
  • Portsmouth v Peterborough United
  • Luton Town v Gillingham
  • Swansea City v Bournemouth
  • Fulham v Tottenham Hotspur
  • Exeter City v Stevenage
  • Wycombe Wanderers v Sutton United
  • Birmingham City v Cardiff City
  • Newport County v Brentford
  • Chelsea v Wimbledon

If you want the Telegraph newspaper delivered to your door, get in touch with our home delivery team or call us on 0800 953 0227