Burnley captain Ben Mee is one of six senior players leaving Turf Moor after the club published its retained list for 2022.

The defender joined the Clarets in 2011, initially on a loan deal from Manchester City, and went on to make over 350 appearances.

He played key roles in the promotions to the Premier League in 2014 and 2016 and also featured in the Europa League qualifiers in 2018.

James Tarkowski is also leaving at the end of his contract, having expressed his desire “to seek an opportunity elsewhere”.

The 29-year-old is reportedly set to sign a long-term deal at Everton following an impressive campaign.

Erik Pieters, Aaron Lennon, Phil Bardsley and Dale Stephens will also leave Turf Moor at the end of their contracts.

Meanwhile, the Clarets have taken up the option of extending Ashley Barnes’ contract by a further 12 monts.

Discussions also remain ongoing with Jack Cork and Matej Vydra over new deals, with the latter recovering from a serious knee injury.

A club statement read: “The club would like to thank all departing players for their efforts during their time at Turf Moor and wish them well for the future.”

Players under contract for the 2022/23 season: Nick Pope, Wayne Hennessey, Bailey Peacock-Farrell, Will Norris, Sam Waller, Matt Lowton, Connor Roberts, Nathan Collins, Kevin Long, Bobby Thomas, Jacob Bedeau, Charlie Taylor, Owen Dodgson, Mark Helm, Adam Phillips, Josh Brownhill, Ashley Westwood, Johann Berg Gudmundsson, Dwight McNeil, Maxwel Cornet, Lewis Richardson, Michael Mellon, Jay Rodriguez, Wout Weghorst

Players leaving the club at the end of their contract: James Tarkowski, Ben Mee, Aaron Lennon, Erik Pieters, Dale Stephens, Phil Bardsley, Joel Mumbongo, Richard Nartey, Anthony Glennon, Anthony Gomez Mancini, Ethen Vaughan, Sam Unwin, Harry Allen, Joel Connolly, Calen Gallagher-Allison

Players who remain in discussion over a contract extension: Matej Vydra, Jack Cork

Players who have had their contract options activated to stay at the club for a further year: Ashley Barnes, Max Thompson, Ne-Jai Ticker

Under-23 players offered a new contract: Finn Armstrong, Dara Costelloe, Rob Harker, Joe McGlynn, Jake Rooney, Ben Woods

Under-18s players who have had their scholarships extended for a further year: Benn Ward, Sam Waller, Dan Sassi, Keelan Williams, Dane McCullough, Jacson Coppack, Will Hugill, Kade Ratchford, Jacob Hamilton

Under-18s players leaving the club at the end of their scholarship: Ruiari Behan, Will Couch, Sean Etaluku, Jack Leckie, Joe Smyth-Ferguson, George Walters

Gain unlimited access to the Lancashire Telegraph website with a premium digital subscription