Clitheroe Golf Club have elected Nigel Clowes as club captain for 2022.

The 2021 lady captain, Elaine Marsden, was re-elected for a second term of office, having served in 2021, and the junior captain will be Harris Rafferty.

All three drove themselves into office watched by a large contingent of Clitheroe members. The ceremony was followed by a Fourball Betterball Stableford competition won by Paul Young and Stephen Bayes with 45 points.

The runners-up were Russ Hargreaves and Peter Bell on 44 points with Simon Murgatroyd and Alan Gallagher in third place scoring 43 points.

A Winter League Single Stableford competition was won by Craig Taylor who scored 41 points with Stuart Biggs in second place on 40 points followed by Julian Troup who took third spot on 39 points after a four-way card play-off with Simon Swindells, Gary Rollins and Paul Young.

Ken Mantle notched up his third successive win in the Over 60s Winter Series Stableford with his score of 42 points. Munro Donald was the runner-up on 41 points with Steven Owen in third place with 40 points and Rob Driver in fourth on 38 points.

A 9 Hole Over 60s Stableford was won by Phil Bishop scoring 20 points.

Meanwhile, Andrew and Graham Child made it a family affair by scoring 38 points to win a card-play off and head the field in the latest Winter League Fourball Betterball competition played at Clitheroe Golf Club.

The runners-up were Neil Dowds and David Parkinson with John Barber and Alan Tolmie in third place on 37 points after winning a card play-off with Steven Owen and Stephen O’Shea.

In the fourth Over 60s Winter Series competition Kevan Abrahams led the field with his score of 42 points.