Burnley retained their Lancashire League Division One title on a final day where any one of three sides could have been crowned champions.

Burnley, Norden and Darwen were all the mix - with Burnley and Norden going head-to-head in a potential winner-takes-all clash.

And there was added intrigue to the final day proceedings as Darwen players turned up at Turf Moor to watch the match unfold having made light work of Colne - an eight-wicket victory that had taken them to the top of the table.

However, Burnley professional Ockert Erasmus made sure Darwen had no more than one hand on the trophy as he scored a brilliant unbeaten 86 to help Burnley seal a 56-run victory.

The South African put together what proved to be a title-winning partnership with Chris Burton, the pair putting on 85 in a fourth-wicket partnership.

Burton scored a half century while Erasmus’ unbeaten knock included four fours and a six as Burnley closed on 206-5 - with Chris Holt (23) and Joe McCluskie (14) chipping in while Zaidi (2-49) and Dominic Humphreys (2-58) were the pick of the Norden bowlers.

In reply, Norden were bowled out for 150 with the spin of Bharat Tripathi (3-38) and Holt (3-25) doing the trick for Burnley.

Just as Erasmus had done early, Norden were looking to their professional Ashar Zaidi to produce with the bat but, crucially, Tripathi claimed the key wicket for just one.

Holt trapped the dangerous Josh Tolley for 35 after Fergus Bailey had removed Norden skipper Hashum Malik for 12.

Erasmus got in on the act and picked up the wicket of Greg Butterworth (7) with Bailey running out both Lee Crabtree (6) and Humphreys (17).

Tripathi second wicket saw him get Harvey Fitton for 46 leaving Norden struggling on 134-7. Dean Lord followed next ball for a duck.

There was to be no late drama as Holt cleaned up the tail by dismissing Sami Waheed (2) and Steve Pimm (19) who was caught in the deep by Erasmus to wrap up another title - a 17th in total.

Darwen knew they had to pick up the maximum 12 points at Colne then hope Norden beat Burnley but without the bonus points.

Batting first, Colne, who the previous week won their first game of the season, were dismissed for just 78 with Dave Bowden claiming 6-30 - to pass 50 wickets for the season - while Neil Cordingley picked up 3-9.

In reply, John Cordingley (27no) and Kumara (37not) put on an unbroken 71 to secure maximum points but ultimately they had to settle for the Holland Cup runners-up trophy.

Elsewhere, Clitheroe were bowled out for 46 to give Ramsbottom an 86 run win - Daryn Smit top scored with 36 in his final innings as Ramsbottom professional.

Joe Hawks claimed four wickets and captain Ben Heap scored an unbeaten 51 in Lowerhouse’s six wicket win at Todmorden.

Walsden finished in fourth place after winning at Rochdale while James Price scored 124 but could not prevent Middleton slipping to a four run defeat to Crompton.