Accrington Stanley’s opening fixture of the new season is not clear cut after the Reds were handed a trip to Wycombe.

Late last night the EFL dropped a bombshell after it announced new sanctions could instead relegate Derby from the Championship and not the Chairboys.

The league issued a statement at 11.50pm confirming that the two clubs will be given an interchangeable set of fixtures while disciplinary action continues against the Rams.

A £100,000 fine has been dished out to the Pride Park club over amortisation of player registrations and it has also been ordered to file restated accounts for financial years ending June 30 2016 and 2017 along with Financial Fair Play paperwork for 2018.

Although the club were initially cleared of any wrongdoing last August, the EFL successfully appealed part of the verdict in September – and argument over when any points sanctions could and should be applied has continued for months.

If any potential EFL point deductions are applied to last season’s total, Derby could be relegated into League One, replacing Wycombe.

Stanley do know for sure that they will then host Cambridge and Doncaster in back-to-back home games in August.

Christmas sees John Coleman’s side host Rotherham on Boxing Day, travel to Shrewsbury on December 29 and head to Wigan on New Year’s Day.

Easter brings a home game against Burton on Good Friday, April 15, and a trip to Bolton on Easter Monday, April 18.

The season concludes at AFC Wimbledon on April 30.

Stanley will find out their opponents in the first round of the Carabao Cup this afternoon, the draw taking place at 3.40pm.

At 4.30pm, the Under-21 side will be added to the Reds’ Papa John’s Trophy group that already includes Barrow and Fleetwood.



Sat 7 Wycombe Wanderers A (pending EFL decision)

Wed 11 Carabao Cup first round

Sat 14 Cambridge United H

Tue 17 Doncaster Rovers H

Sat 21 Crewe Alexandra A

Sat 28 Milton Keynes Dons A


Sat 4 Shrewsbury Town H

Sat 11 Sunderland A

Sat 18 Wigan Athletic H

Sat 25 Morecambe A

Tue 28 Oxford United A


Sat 2 Ipswich Town H

Sat 9 Fleetwood Town H

Sat 16 Cheltenham Town A

Tue 19 Charlton Athletic A

Sat 23 Portsmouth H

Sat 30 Gillingham A


Sat 6 FA Cup first round

Sat 13 Plymouth Argyle H

Sat 20 Sheffield Wednesday H

Tue 23 Burton Albion A

Sat 27 Lincoln City A


Tue 7 AFC Wimbledon H

Sat 11 Bolton Wanderers H

Sat 18 Sheffield Wednesday A

Sun 26 Rotherham United H

Wed 29 Shrewsbury Town A


Sat 1 Wigan Athletic A

Sat 8 Milton Keynes Dons H

Sat 15 Sunderland H

Sat 22 Ipswich Town A

Sat 29 Morecambe H


Sat 5 Rotherham United A

Tue 8 Oxford United H

Sat 12 Crewe Alexandra H

Sat 19 Cambridge United A

Tue 22 Doncaster Rovers A

Sat 26 Wycombe Wanderers H


Sat 5 Portsmouth A

Sat 12 Charlton Athletic H

Sat 19 Plymouth Argyle A

Sat 26 Gillingham H


Sat 2 Cheltenham Town H

Sat 9 Fleetwood Town A

Fri 15 Burton Albion H

Mon 18 Bolton Wanderers A

Sat 23 Lincoln City H

Sat 30 AFC Wimbledon A