RAMSBOTTOM’S poor start to the season continued as they suffered an eight-wicket home defeat to Burnley.

Batting first, Ramsbottom were bowled out for 109 - Jacob Clarke (27) and Simon Hanson (18) the main contributors - as Chris Holt took 5-35.

Holt then scored an unbeaten 28 to help Burnley to victory after Matt Roberts (40) and Joey Marshall (29) had laid the foundations.

Norden are the new leaders as Ashar Zaidi’s unbeaten 88 helped end Walsden’s unbeaten start to the season - and leapfrog them in to top spot in the process.

Clitheroe closed the gap on Walsden as they moved up to third place following a four-wicket win at Middleton.

The home side were dismissed for 161 with professional James Price top scoring with 69. Alid Ross (4-21) and pro Mohammad Mohsin (4-59) did the damage with the ball.

In reply, Mohsin (39), Kyle O’Connor (33no) put Clitheroe on the road to victory with Tom Lord (28) and Charlie Dewhurst (17no) doing their bit.

Fourth-placed Lowerhouse enjoyed a big 206 run win over Colne.

Paddy Martin scored an impressive unbeaten 82 in Lowerhouse’s 285-8 total with professional Stephen Parry also in fine form, top scoring with 89.

Charlie Cottam (40) and a late 17 runs from Toxy Hussain help ‘House pile on the runs.

Andy Hakin, with 3-58, was Colne’s best bowler.

In reply, Lewis Rimmer (30) and David Spokes (28) were the only Colne batsmen to reach double figures as they were dismissed for 79 - Parry following up his effort with the bat by taking 6-13.

Colne remain bottom and are still looking for a first win of the season.

There were also good all-round performances by Bilal Abbas and Andrew Sutcliffe as Todmorden beat Crompton by seven wickets.

The pair helped bowled Crompton out for 203 by taking four wickets each - Abbas returning figures of 4-34 and Sutcliffe 4-69.

Abbas then put on an opening wicket partnership of 117 with Ben Sutcliffe, who scored 48.

He then teamed up with Andrew Sutcliffe, Abbas eventually scoring 78 while his fellow all-rounder ended unbeaten on 44.

New Tod pro Manisankar Murasingh, who picked up a wicket on his debut, trapping Aqib Zulfiqar for just four, then completed a satisfying first outing for his team by scoring an unbeaten 21 as they sealed a fourth win of the season.

Darwen suffered a third defeat of their campaign after losing by four wickets to Rochdale.

Batting first, Darwen were bowled out for just 68 as Rochdale professional Sean Whitehead took 5-8 and Steve Oddy picked up 4-26 did the damage.

Sam Painter (13no), Scott Friend (13) and Kamran Anwar (10) were the only Darwen players to reach double figures.

In reply, Rochdale eased to victory in the 23rd over when opener James Maurice-Scott hit an unbeaten 40 to help secure victory.

In Division Two, new boys Greenmount rewrote the Lancashire League history books after openers Chesney Hughes and Andy Kerr put together a staggering 320 partnership - the highest stand for any wicket.

Professional Hughes scored an unbeaten 159 and Kerr hit 127 as Greenmount beat East Lancs by 200 runs.

Hughes’ knock came from 163 deliveries and included 20 fours and two sixes while Kerr also hit 20 fours as Greenmount posted a mighty 341-2.

In reply, East Lancs, who don’t have a professional, were bowled out for 141 with Mark Bolton (22no), Boyle (22), Aspinall (20) and Ryan Walmsley (20) the main contributors as Callum Hunter took 7-27.

Haslingden stay second thanks mainly to the all-round efforts of Sean Hunsley in a 10-wicket win over Rawtenstall.

Hunsley took 5-30 to help bowl Rawtenstall out for 171 - professional Janith Liyanage top scoring with 57 - before scoring 76 not out in an unbeaten opening partnership with Graham Knowles (81no) to seal victory.

Church beat bottom of the table Bacup to stay in third place.

Batting first, Church scored 219-9 with Craig Fergusson top scoring with 42 while pro Sagar Trivedi (34), Phill Gilrane (30), Kelan Florentine (26,) Sam Holt (22) and Andrew Bentley (20no) all in the runs.

Ben Lord (4-47) and sub professional Chalana de Silva (3-52) were the pick of the bowlers.

Bentley then returned impressive figures of 7-20 as Bacup were bowled out for 96.

Great Harwood paid man Thikshila de Silva scored 113 in a 24-run win over Hyndburn rivals Enfield.

Batting first, Great Harwood scored 263-9 with Nazakat Hussain (22) and Matt Oddie (25) the other main contributors.

In reply, Enfield were bowled out for 239 - Lewis Wright top scoring with 82 - as De Silva (4-79) and Stuart Maher (3-39) did the damage.

Leaders Littleborough scored 214-6 as they beat Rishton by 25 runs as they were restricted to 189-9 in reply - Brad Boddie (45), Josh Whitehead (43) the main run makers.

Accrington’s game against Nelson was postponed due to several Accrington players testing positive for Covid-19.