JONNY Whitehead did the business with the bat to help Lowerhouse to a first victory of the Lancashire League season and end Darwen’s unbeaten start.

The opener smashed an unbeaten 65 - that included 10 fours and two sixes - to make light work of Darwen’s 103-9 total.

Paddy Martin also played his part with 25 not out as Lowerhouse reached their target for the loss of captain Ben Heap for seven.

Earlier, sub professional Neil Hornbuckle top scored with 26 as Stephen Parry was the pick of the ‘House bowlers, claiming 4-30.

Ramsbottom also lost for the first time this season as they lost by five wickets at Todmorden.

Batting first, Ramsbottom were dismissed for 139 with professional Daryn Smit (4) not troubling the scoreboard for the first time this season.

Jacob Clarke top scored with 43 and Dan Pyke hit 31 as Todmorden’s sub pro Gurinder Singh (4-22), Noah Priestley (3-16) and Matt Collins (3-44) took the wickets.

In reply, Singh scored 39 not out as Ben Sutcliffe top scored with 43 to guide Todmorden to victory.

Champions Burnley returned to winning ways after last weekend’s home defeat to Clitheroe thanks to a nine wicket win at Colne.

Batting first, Colne were bowled out for just 87 as Graham returned impressive figures of 5-31 while Fergus Bailey took 3-35. Colne captain Matt Walker top scored with an unbeaten 20.

Joey Marshall (42no) and professional Ocki Erasmus (18no) then guided Burnley to victory for the loss of just one wicket, Matt Roberts dismissed for 21.

Clitheroe followed up that win at Burnley with a last over victory against winless Rochdale.

Batting first, Rochdale scored 189-8 with Andy Dawson top scoring with 52.

Clitheroe’s paid man Mansoor Amjad was the pick of the bowlers, taking 3-22.

Amjad then did his bit with the bat, scoring 41, with Ali Ross top scoring with 50 while Peter Dibb (37no), Jack Dewhurst (29) and Thomas Lord (20) saw Clitheroe home with just one ball left in the final over.

Norden and Walsden remain the only unbeaten sides in Division One - and both occupy joint top spot - thanks to victories over Middleton and Crompton respectively.

In Division Two, Enfield are top of the table after making it three wins out of three thanks to victory at Nelson.

Yasir Ali produced a fine all-round performance for Enfield, top scoring with 92 before taking 5-64 in a high-scoring affair at Seedhill.

Batting first, Enfield posted 258-6 with Liam Jackson (46) and opening pair Lewis Wright (33) and Jack Cook (42) all contributing. Nelson pro Usman Tariq took 4-63. Nelson then closed on 203-9 with Tariq top scoring with 68 while there were useful knocks from Jack Bradley (31), Chris Gildea (23) and Nick Burton (21).

Littleborough, two points behind, are the only other unbeaten side in the division as they sealed a seven wicket win over Great Harwood.

Batting first, Great Harwood were bowled out for 95. Professional Thikshila de Silva top scored with 30. Ryan Miskella hit an unbeaten 35 with Clinton Perren scoring an unbeaten 22 as Littleborough eased to victory.

Rishton sealed their first win of the season as they beat East Lancs with professional Sachithra Perera doing his bit with bat and ball.

Batting first, Rishton scored 233-4 with Perera scoring 39 while captain Brad Boddie top scored with an unbeaten 57.

Perera then took 3-33 - with Kian Farnworth returning the same figures - as East Lancs were bowled out for 156 with Adeel Mohammed (50) and John Turner (48) the standout batsmen.

Church came out on top in their derby clash with Accrington, winning by just one to seal a second win of the season.

Accrington closed on 164-8, opener Matt Wilson scoring 43 while Toby Bulcock (45) and Jonny Hayhurst (31) kept the scoreboard ticking over.

Andrew Bentley was the pick of the Church bowlers, taking 5-54


In reply, Craig Ferguson (20) and Sam Holt (27) got Church off to a fine start but in the end they needed a gutsy unbeaten 37 from Joel Gaskill to get them over the line with one wicket and two balls remaining.

Rawtenstall made it two wins out of three after beating Bacup. Rizwan Shafiq (58) and professional Saliya Saman (52), Matt Kershaw (43) and Gareth Jones (35) all contributed to Rawtenstall’s 236-9 total.

Professional Sachithra Serasinghe and Matt Collinge both scored 51 as Bacup were bowled out for 208.

League new boys Greenmount lost for the first time, by seven wickets to Haslingden.

Greenmount were bowled out for 165 - Sean Hunsley taking 4-22 - before Graham Knowles (43), Samit Patel (56) and Connor Reed (30no) led the response.