ACCRINGTON Stanley will kick off the new League One season at home to Peterborough United.

Posh will visit the Wham Stadium on Saturday, September 12 when the condensed third tier campaign gets under way.

The Reds are expected to begin their season seven days earlier with a trip to Burton Albion in the first round of the Carabao Cup although that is still to be confirmed.

And the sides won’t have to wait long to meet again with Stanley back at the Pirelli Stadium on Saturday, September 19, for their first away fixture in League One.

The unique nature of the campaign means there will be 11 midweek games in the third tier on top of any cup games.

The schedule for the EFL Trophy is also to be confirmed but that could also start in the week before the opener against Peterborough.

A packed Christmas schedule sees Stanley travel to Doncaster Rovers on Boxing Day before hosting Sunderland on December 29.

John Coleman’s side then host Portsmouth on January 2.

The reverse fixture at Pompey comes on the final day, May 8, and concludes a tricky run-in as the Reds visit Sunderland on April 24 and host relegated Charlton on May 1.

Easter sees Stanley host Burton Albion on Good Friday, April 2, before heading to Oxford on Easter Monday, April 5.

Games are set to be played behind closed doors until at least October.

Accrington Stanley fixtures 2020/21


Sat 12 Peterborough United H

Sat 19 Burton Albion A

Sat 26 Oxford United H


Sat 3 AFC Wimbledon A

Sat 10 Rochdale H

Sat 17 Ipswich Town A

Tue 20 Fleetwood Town H

Sat 24 Bristol Rovers H

Tue 27 Swindon Town A

Sat 31 Plymouth Argyle H


Tue 3 Hull City A

Sat 7 FA Cup first round

Sat 14 Northampton Town A

Sat 21 Lincoln City H

Tue 24 Crewe Alexandra H


Tue 1 Shrewsbury Town A

Sat 5 Milton Keynes Dons H

Sat 12 Wigan Athletic A

Tue 15 Gillingham A

Sat 19 Blackpool H

Sat 26 Doncaster Rovers A

Tue 29 Sunderland H


Sat 2 Portsmouth H

Sat 9 Charlton Athletic A

Sat 16 Gillingham H

Sat 23 Blackpool A

Tue 26 Hull City H

Sat 30 Plymouth Argyle A


Sat 6 Northampton Town H

Sat 13 Lincoln City A

Sat 20 Shrewsbury Town H

Tue 23 Crewe Alexandra A

Sat 27 Fleetwood Town A


Tue 2 Ipswich Town H

Sat 6 Swindon Town H

Tue 9 Bristol Rovers A

Sat 13 Milton Keynes Dons A

Sat 20 Wigan Athletic H

Sat 27 Peterborough United A


Fri 2 Burton Albion H

Mon 5 Oxford United A

Sat 10 AFC Wimbledon H

Sat 17 Rochdale A

Tue 20 Doncaster Rovers H

Sat 24 Sunderland A


Sat 1 Charlton Athletic H

Sat 8 Portsmouth A