THE EFL have confirmed that the first round of the Carabao Cup will mark the start of the new season on Saturday, September 5.

The regular league season kicks off seven days later with fixtures being released on Friday, August 21 at 9am.

The draw for the first round of the Carabao Cup, divided into a northern and southern section and unseeded, will be on Tuesday, August 18 at a time to be confirmed.

The September 5 first round date may move depending on any international call-ups.

Rounds two, three and four will be played on consecutive midweeks dates starting on September 15 and 16.

Premier League sides will enter the competition in round two or round three if they are competing in European competition.

In terms of league action, the EFL have reiterated that the regular season will finish on May 8 and 9.

The late start to the season due to the Covid-19 pandemic means the Championship will have 13 midweek rounds of fixtures and Leagues One and Two 11.

The play-off finals will take place at Wembley on the bank holiday weekend of May 29 to 31.

For Accrington Stanley, the EFL Trophy group stage draw will take place on Tuesday, August 18.

The competition will start in the week commencing September 7 with the final taking place on Sunday, March 14, 2021.

The competition format remains unchanged, however, the title sponsorship with has come to an end so the competition will revert back to the EFL Trophy.

Category One academies taking part this season come from Arsenal, Aston Villa, Brighton, Chelsea, Fulham, Leeds, Leicester, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Newcastle, Norwich, Southampton, West Brom, West Ham and Wolves.