Although football is currently suspended due to the coronavirus outbreak, there promises to be a thrilling end to the season if and when the Championship does reconvene.

With just nine games remaining, you can make a case that 13 teams still have a realistic chance of winning promotion. While the race at the bottom is just intense with eight sides still battling to avoid the drop.

Writers across the division have given their thoughts on who should make the Championship Team of the Season…

Goalkeeper:  Brice Samba (Nottingham Forest)
The goalkeeping position turned out to be a fiercely competitive category with nine different shot-stoppers receiving a nomination.  But it was Forest's Samba who came out on top with four votes just ahead of Fulham's Marek Rodak and Bristol City's Daniel Bentley.

Right-Back: Luke Ayling (Leeds)
Ayling narrowly pipped Nottingham Forest's Matty Cash by eight votes to seven – with the pair dominating this poll. Rovers’ Ryan Nyambe was the only other defender to receive a nomination.

Centre-back: Ben White (Leeds)
The overwhelming winner in the centre-back category, on-loan Brighton defender White received a huge 10 votes for his staring displays at the heart of Leeds' defence.

Centre-back: Semi Ajayi (West Brom)
Snapped up for £1.5million from Rotherham, Ajayi has proven to be one of the bargains of the season. In total, 11 different centre-backs received nominations, with Ajayi earning four votes. Preston North End's Patrick Bauer and Millwall's Shaun Hutchinson tied in third with three.

Left-back: Joe Bryan (Fulham)
There were only two left-backs who received more than one vote with Fulham's Joe Bryan (six) triumphing over Blues' Kristian Pedersen (three).

Lancashire Telegraph:

Right-midfield: Matheus Pereira (West Brom)
the Brazilian has registered 16 assists and scored six goals this season has been a revelation since joining the Baggies on loan from Sporting Lisbon and received 11 votes.

Central midfield: Eberechi Eze (QPR)
Surely a Premier League player in the making, Eze has shown his quality, strength and technical ability all term. His 12 goals and eight assists saw him win nine votes.

Central-midfield: Kalvin Phillips (Leeds)
Phillips was watched by England boss Gareth Southgate back in January and integral to Leeds' style of play and won seven votes in all.

Left midfield: Saïd Benrahma
Able to play on the right or left, Benrahama received the joint-most votes in this poll with 12 Championship writers picking him in their team, after 10 goals and eight assists.

Lancashire Telegraph:

Striker: Aleksandar Mitrovic (Fulham)
The Serbian – along with Benrahma – received the most votes in this poll with 12 nominations. And it's hard to see how anyone could leave with him out having scored a staggering 31 goals in 39 games this term.

Striker: Ollie Watkins (Brentford)
Hot on the heels of Mitrovic, Watkins received 10 votes. Only one other centre-forward received a nomination – with Wayne Rooney completing a very short, shortlist.

Graham Smyth. Leeds writer. Yorkshire Evening Post.

Team: Brice Samba, Matty Cash, Harry Toffolo, Semi Ajay, Patrick Bauer, Kalvin Phillips, Eberechi Eze, Saïd Benrahma, Jack Harrison, Matheus Pereira, Aleksandar Mitrovic.

Joe Masi. Albion writer. Express & Star.

Team: Brice Samba, Luke Ayling, Ben White, Patrick Bauer, Joe Bryan, Jake Livermore, Eberechi Eze, Tom Cairny, Matheus Pereira, Said Benrahma, Aleksandr Mitrovic.

David McIntyre. Fulham, Brentford and QRR. West London Sport.

Team: Brice Samba, Luke Ayling, Semi Ajayi, Ben White, Rico Henry, Kalvin Phillips, Romaine Sawyers, Matheus Pereira, Said Benrahma, Aleksandar Mitrovic, Ollie Watkins.

Dave Seddon. Preston Writer. Lancashire Evening Post.

Team: Sam Johnstone, Ryan Nyambe, Ben White, Ben Davies, Joe Bryan, Ben Pearson, Said Benrahma, Eberechi Eze, Matheus Pereira, Ollie Watkins, Aleksandar Mitrovic.

“Local differences have been aside to include Ryan Nyambe at right-back, a player who caused PNE so many problems down the right in their meeting at Ewood Park earlier this year.”

Lancashire Telegraph:

Gregor Macgregor. Bristol City writer. Bristol Live.

Team: Dan Bentley, Joe Bryan, Luke Ayling, Ben White, Shaun Hutchinson, Kalvin Phillips, Eberechi Eze, Matheus Pereira, Niclas Eliasson, Aleksandar Mitrovic, Ollie Watkins

Glen Williams. Cardiff City writer. Wales Online.

Team: Marek Rodak, Matty Cash, Luke Ayling, Semi Ajayi, Joe Bryan Kalvin Phillips, Romaine Sawyers, Matheus Pereira, Lee Tomlin, Said Benrahma, Aleksandr Mitrovic

Rich Sharpe. Rovers writer. Lancashire Telegraph.

Team: Bartosz Bialkowski, Matty Cash, Ben White, Ben Davies, Kristian Pedersen, Lewis Travis, Joe Lolley, Said Benrahma, Matheus Pereira, Jack Harrison, Aleksandr Mitrovic.

"The job Gary Rowett has done at Millwall I think has gone under the radar somewhat, and their defensive record has impressed me, hence Bialkowski’s nod in goal.

I’ve gone for a Nottingham Forest right-hand side, with Cash at right back and Lolley in front of him, the latter always seems to have an impact against Rovers and has been a consistent performer for some time now.

White can make the game look easy at times, and has slotted in seamlessly to an impressive Leeds defensive unit. Preston have two strong centre halves, but everyone I speak to believes Davies is a Premier League defender in waiting. Pedersen, an uncompromising and solid left back, completes the defence. 

Lancashire Telegraph:

Few players can have had the emergence of Travis, whose all-action style would be needed behind the silky creativity of Pereira and Benrahma, who have looked a cut above in the attacking areas. Harrison on the left looks to have gone up a level from last season, and few players have caused Rovers right back Ryan Nyambe problems this season, but he’s one.

I feel Fulham have flattered to deceive at times this season, though with by far and away the best No.9 in the division in Mitrovic, their league position owes a lot to his weight of goals."

Jonathan Low. Reading writer. Berkshire Live.

Team: Darren Randolph, Luke Ayling, Kyle Bartley, Ashley Williams, Kadeem Harris, Mateus Pereira, John Swift, Tom Cairney, Said Benrahma, Aleksander Mitrovic, Ollie Watkins.

Pete Smith. Stoke writer. The Sentinel.

Team: Marek Rodak, Matty Cash, Kristian Pedersen, Shaun Hutchinson, Liam Cooper, Sam Clucas, Ebere Eze, Pablo Hernandez, Jarrod Bowen, Grady Diangana, Ollie Watkins.

Stuart Rayner, chief football writer. Yorkshire Post.

Team: Brice Samba, Matty Cash, Semi Ajayi, Tim Ream, Kristian Pedersen, Jarrod Bowen, Kalvin Phillips, Matheus Pereira, Jack Harrison, Aleksander Mitrovic, Ollie Watkins.

Paul Kendrick. Wigan Athletic writer. Wigan Observer/Post

Team: Daniel Bentley, Matty Cash, Antonee Robinson, Kalvin Phillips, Ben White, Pontus Jansson, Eberechi Eze, Said Benrahma, Aleksandar Mitrovic, Wayne Rooney, Nick Powell

Lancashire Telegraph:

Jonty Colman. Hull writer. Yorkshire Live.

Team: Marek Rodak, Luke Ayling, Ben White, Shaun Hutchinson, Joe Bryan, John Swift, Kalvin Phillips, Matheus Pereira, Eberechi Eze, Said Benrahma, Ollie Watkins.

Lewis Catt. Broadcaster. Charlton Live.

Dillon Phillips, Luke Ayling, Ben White, Patrick Bauer, Joe Bryan, Romaine Sawyers, Kalvin Phillips, Said Benrahma, Matheus Pereira, Ollie Watkins, Aleksandar Mitrovic

James Cunliffe. Luton writer and broadcaster.

Team: Simon Sluga, Luke Ayling, Ben White, Stuart Dallas, Rico Henry, Izzy Brown, Eberechi Eze, Said Benrahma, Josh Dasilva, Aleksander Mitrovic, Ollie Watkins.

Doug Kane. Sports editor. Barnsley Chronicle.

Team: Rafael, Matty Cash, Kyle Bartley, Ben White, Max Lowe, Daniel Johnson, Eberechi Eze, Alex Mowatt, Tom Barkhuizen, Said Benrahma, Ollie Watkins.