SALESBURY slipped from top spot in Section A of the Ribblesdale Cricket League with defeat to Padiham.

The visitors posted 135-7 batting first in a game reduced to 37 overs per side due to rain.

Jack Dewhurst made 48 and Rhys Marshall 34 as Sam Bristol took 5-41.

In reply, Salesbury came close but ended on 126-5, nine short of victory.

Dewhurst and Toby Burrow bowled 17 overs each to end with 2-55 and 3-48 respectively while Jarryd Clements top scored with 48.

Settle take over at the summit after seeing off last year's champions Oswaldtwistle Immanuel by five wickets.

The title holders looked in a reasonable position at 78-3, thanks to Oliver Clare (22), Daniel Metcalf (24) and Akil Rajput(22).

But they collapsed to 101 all out, Eddy Read doing the damage with 7-56.

He then impressed with the bat too, making 41 as with the help of Ashen Silva (25), the pair put on 59 for the fourth wicket to see Settle recover from 20-3 to win with 15 overs to spare.

Elsewhere in Section A Whalley were 89-run winners over Brinscall in a game reduced to 39 overs per side.

The visitors batted first and posted 199-6, Jack Edgar, 70, and Declan Bailey, 46, adding 100 for the third wicket.

Adam Wojciechowski took three of the wickets to fall.

In reply despite 22 from Liam Winstanley and 35 from James McVite, Brinscall were all out for 110 with Fergus Bailey taking 5-21 and Edgar having an excellent all round day with 4-22 in a routine win.

Read were comfortable nine-wicket winners over Baxenden at Whalley Road.

The visitors were bowled out for 118, Aneeq Hussain making 56 and Ben Brierley 35 not out but they were the only batsman to make double figures.

Matt Walker took 3-35 and Jamie Woodhall 3-17.

Read had no problems getting the required total, for the loss of only one wicket.

Will Wrathall made 42, Walker an unbeaten 38 and Joel Duerden 22 not out as they won with 25 overs to spare.

In Section B, Cherry Tree were 74-run winners in their derby with Feniscowles, making 227-9 before restricting their rivals to 153-9.

Earby were big winners over Euxton.

They were all out for 216 batting first with Girvacques De Jager, 72, and Ashen Bandara, 43, the main contributors.

The score could well have been larger but for Louis Sweeney taking 7-39 and the innings ending with five unused overs.

However Euxton never looked like making the required total and were grateful to a late 21 from Rizwan Patel to get them to a disappointing 74 all out.

Jake Hargreaves took 5-38 and Safyan Ahmed 3-25.

In a match between two teams with eyes on promotion this season, Barnoldswick were 103-run winners over Ribblesdale Wanderers.

Having won the toss and elected to bowl Wanderers saw Barlick post 259-4.

A third wicket partnership between Jack Rietschal (59) and Majid Inayat took the score to 138.

Inayat was then joined by Matt Haynes and they added a further 116 in an unbroken stand that proved decisive at the end of the day.

Inayat finished unbeaten on 106 with Haynes 44 not out.

Ryan Canning bowled a long spell and took two of the wickets to fall, his cause not helped by a couple of dropped catches.

In reply, Ribblesdale faced a four-pronged spin attack and lost wickets on a regular basis, leaving them in trouble at 69-4.

Ryan Canning (61) and Shaan Singh-Parker (26) added 70 for the fifth wicket, but the dismissal of Canning led to a collapse and they ended on 156 all out. Rietschal took 4-49 and Chalana De Silva 3-41.