THE Ribblesdale Cricket League 2019 season started on Sunday with a new fixture.

The summer began for the first time with the previous campaign's league and cup winners playing against each other as Ramsbottom Cup winners Padiham ran out comfortable victors against league champions Oswaldtwistle Immanuel.

Oswaldtwistle batted first and were soon in trouble at 10-3.

Anthony Dignan (21) and Oliver Clare 19) battled hard in the middle order to try and give the score some respectability but it wasn't enough.

All in all, they were bowled out for 104 with extras the top scorer with 26.

Andreas Sudnik finished 14 not out with Toby Burrows the pick of the bowlers with 3-7.

Padiham’s reply was dominated by Callum Clarke who made an unbeaten 57 from just 59 balls, hitting seven fours and two sixes along the way.

He was joined by Kurt Robinson (22 not out) as the host side on the day won by six wickets, finishing on 107-4 with 20 overs to spare.

Dean Martin took all four wickets to fall, finishing with 4-40 from his eight overs.

At the end of play league secretary John Pearson presented the Birchall Cup to Padiham.

The league programme starts this Saturday with the opening round of fixtures:

Barnoldswick v Feniscowles, Baxenden v Earby, Oswaldtwistle v Brinscall, Read v Salesbury, Ribblesdale Wanderers v Euxton, Settle v Padiham, Whalley v Cherry Tree