WHAT an incredible year it has turned out to be for our East Lancashire based time trialists!

Ryan Perry who lives in Trawden, was crowned National 25 mile Champion of 2015 - the acknowledged blue riband event of the sport - over the weekend.

This came just four weeks since the British Record 100 mile ride of Perry’s friend and near neighbour Richard Bideau.


On a course near High Wycombe, Perry, who was born in Burnley, lived up to the reputation he gained after finishing third to Movistar professional Alex Dowsett in the British Time Trial Championships in June.

He again beat reigning 25-mile champion Matt Bottrill, as he had done in that event.

Riding for Langdale Lightweights RT 28-year-old Perry’s time of 48 minutes four seconds was 20 seconds faster than second placed Bottrill.

Burnley’s Steve Irwin suffered bad luck with a mechanical problem causing him to stop not far from the finish when likely to finish in the top six overall.

Perry had recently beaten the Pendle Forest Cycling Club 10 mile record held by Steven Burke MBE and has since re-set another Pendle Forest record on the hilly 13-mile course from Thornton-in-Craven through Gisburn finishing at 1,000 feet on the Blacko road.

His time of 31mins 2secs took four minutes off the record held by Hamish Graham of Clitheroe based Green Jersey RT.

Also last weekend another Burnley based rider, Mick Ellerton, took third place in the Drighlington 25 mile in Yorkshire with a 53mins 57secs ride.

The Rossendale Road Club 10-mile at Hapton had wet and windy conditions with the winner again Chris Smith of Todmorden.

He clocked 24mins 35secs followed by three Rossendale riders Paul Warrener (26mins 48secs), Richie Watts (27mins 51secs) and Andy Russell (29mins 6secs).

At Edisford, Duncan Park was again fastest in his own North Lancs. Road Club ‘10’ in 24mins 17secs followed by road club members Stuart Timmins (24mins 59secs) and John Foster (25mins 21secs). Blackburn’s ex-International road man Karl Smith, riding for Bott Cycles, was fourth in 25mins 30secs.

Next week the Rossendale ‘10’ at Hapton on Tuesday and the Edisford ‘10’ on Wednesday will include the annual competition between the two local clubs who both must field at least five riders on each night.

The club with the lowest aggregate time are winners of the Malcolm Eccles Memorial Trophy.

The Hapton events continue until the end of August but this is the final NLRC event this season.