ANY record of Steven Burke MBE takes some beating but Trawden’s Ryan Perry – recently third to Movistar Tour rider Alex Dowsett in the British Time Trial Championships – did just that at Thornton-in-Craven last week.

Army Captain Perry improved Burke’s 10-mile course record of 20 minutes 20 seconds to an outstanding 19mins 44secs in his first-ever ride in the Pendle Forest event.


Up to recent years the North West had their own 100-mile event in their programme but now the North Lancashire Time Trials Association (NLTTA) has to use an event of that distance in a bordering area for their annual championship.

The NLTTA 100-mile Championship was held on Shropshire roads on Sunday and the outright winner and also the NLTTA Champion was Burnley’s Steve Irwin of the North Lancs Road Club in yet another superb time. His 3hr 41mins 58secs was 15 minutes faster than second placed and almost 20 minutes better than the next NLTTA member.

Almost as warm-ups for the 100, Irwin had won a 10-mile event on the Levens course on Thursday in 19mins 21secs and on Saturday night, with the ‘100‘ starting from 6am at Whitchurch the following morning, was second in the Nelson Wheelers ‘10’ on the Sawley/A59 course with 20mins 22secs. Fibrax-Wrexham‘s David Crawley regained his course record in 20mins 8secs with Richard Bideau third in 20mins 31secs.

Sam Boast of Colne and Wheelbase Altura was the winner in the main event at the Steven Burke Hub at Barrowford with Padiham’s Simon Wilson of Team Polypipe third.

In other events our local girls were well placed with Cycle Sport Pendle’s Georgia Ashworth first in the under 16s and team-mate Corrine Side third, while CSP’s Cory Edmondson took second in the under 16 boys and Charlie Paige, of Clitheroe’s Green Jersey RT, third in the under 14s.

CSP took the first three in the under 12s with Tom Kenyon winning, Daniel Vincent second and Tom Lees third.

Chris Smith of Condor Road Club was the winner of the Hapton ‘10’ with 24mins 46secs followed by Rossendale’s Paul Warrener (26mins 32secs), Bury Clarion’s Andy Horner (26mins 45secs) and Roy Flanagan of Rossendale Road Club (27mins 12secs).

The North Lancs’ Road Club took the top four places at Edisford with Stuart Timmins claiming his first win in his club’s 10-mile with 24mins 44secs while John Foster and John Wade tied for second in 26mins 5secs.