RIBBLE Valley Council only holds local elections every four years, meaning all 40 members are fighting to regain their seats on May 5 in this Conservative stronghold.

Last week the Liberal Democrats celebrated the 20th anniversary of their famous by-election scalp, when they overturned a huge majority to win Ribble Valley amid a poll tax backlash.

But now they find themselves defending Government policies to improve on their nine councillors.

The Conservatives have 30, with one independent.

Labour will be looking to win at least one seat, having lost its last councillor four years ago.

Despite no local elections in 2010, the task facing opposition parties was underlined when MP Nigel Evans romped home with an increased majority of 14,769.

Aighton Bailey & Chaigley

Jan Alcock Conservative
Ross Mclean Labour
Tania Slater Liberal Democrat.

Alston & Hothersall

Jim Rogerson Independent
David Thornton Smith Conservative
Catriona Graham West Liberal Democrat.

Billington & Old Langho

Gary Cooper Liberal Democrat
Simon Kerins UK Independence Party
Ged Mirfin Conservative
Carl Eric Ross Conservative.

Bowland, Newton & Slaidburn

Rosemary Joan Elms Conservative
Gill Rose Labour.


Sarah Jane Bryant Labour
Howard Granville Douglas Independent
Gary Scott Conservative.


Simon Hore Conservative
Jennifer Louise Shervey Liberal Democrat.

Clayton-le-Dale with Ramsgreave

Peter Ainsworth Conservative
Katherine Elizabeth Burn Labour
Doreen Taylor Conservative.

Derby & Thornley

Stuart Walter Alan Carefoot Conservative
Rose Marie Adamson Liberal Democrat
Jenny Doran Labour
Sarah Rainford Liberal Democrat
Jim White Conservative.


Jeffrey Norman Flitcroft Liberal Democrat
Ken Hind Conservative
Chris Parkinson Independent
David Walter Robinson Liberal Democrat
Adam Cedric Hudson Scott Labour
Charles Alexander Smithson Labour
Rupert Swarbrick Conservative.

Edisford & Low Moor

Jo Barlow Labour
Alastair Crooks Conservative
Ruth Hargreaves Liberal Democrat
David Hinder Labour
Alyson Martha Hudson Conservative
Ron Loebell UK Independence Party
Alan Yearing Liberal Democrat.

Gisburn & Rimington

Richard Else Sherras Conservative.


Frank Joseph Havard Labour
Lois Rimmer Conservative
Michael James Thomas Conservative.


Chris Bartrop Conservative
Alex Collinson Labour
Sue Knox Liberal Democrat
Luke Andrew Montague Labour
Simon Morley Conservative
James Kristian Shervey Liberal Democrat.


Stella Maria Brunskill Conservative
Noel C Walsh Conservative.


Charles Berkeley Cathcart Labour
Graham Geldard Conservative
Allan McLean Knox Liberal Democrat
Andrew Pearson Conservative
Mary Robinson Liberal Democrat
Mike Rose Labour.

Read & Simonstone

Richard John Bennett Conservative
Samantha Claire Bruce Liberal Democrat
John Benson Hill Conservative
Paul Andrew Slater Liberal Democrat.


Ian Christison Conservative.


Andrew John Berryman Liberal Democrat
Richard Newmark Conservative.


Kath Hill Conservative
David Andrew Berryman Liberal Democrat
Ian Frank Brown Independent
Pamela Dowson Conservative
John Basham Field Labour
Amy Killen Labour
Steve Rush UK Independence Party
Paul Fraser Webb Liberal Democrat.

St Mary's

Laura Field Labour
Paul Martyn Hogarth Labour
Kevin Horkin Conservative
Adam George Howard Liberal Democrat
Ruth Moores Conservative
Simon Michael O'Rourke Liberal Democrat.

Waddington & West Bradford

Bridget Hilton Conservative
Michael Ranson Conservative
Paul Joseph Stewart Robinson Liberal Democrat
Rebecca Jayne Sharp Green Party.


Mel Diack Independent
Terry Hill Conservative
Joyce Holgate Conservative
Andrew Niall MacFarlane Labour.


Sue Bibby Conservative
Stuart Alan Hirst Conservative
Robert Kellaway Labour.

Wiswell & Pendleton

Paul Anthony Atkinson Labour
Robert James Thompson Conservative.