Lancashire MPs Lindsay Hoyle and Nigel Evans have been elected deputy speakers of the House of Commons.

Mr Hoyle, who represents Chorley topped the Labour poll, which means he becomes chariman of the Ways and Means committee and will preside over the Budget debate on June 22.

Ribble Valley member Mr Evans headed the Conservative poll.

They will deputise, along with a third MP, ex-health minister Dawn Primarolo, for the Speaker John Bercow.

Mr Hoyle, said: “This is a good result for Lancashire and the backbenches.

“I’m very gratified that my peers have seen fit to entrust me with this position and will do my utmost to uphold the values of the House.

“Chorley comes first though and the representation of my constituents will still be my priority.

"It’s not long until the Budget debate so I will be preparing for that in the next few days.”

Mr Evans said that he was ‘honoured and privileged’ to be given the role.

He added: “I decided to put my name forward for deputy speaker after stepping down from the front bench role as Shadow Welsh Secretary.

“It’s a great honour and I thank those in the Ribble Valley who have supported me.

“I’ve been given a brochure and DVD on Parliamentary procedure and will be brushing up on them before I start the role.”

Nine MPs contested the first ever elections for the positions of deputy speaker in a secret ballot of MPs yesterday in a new process devised by Mr Bercow.

Two of the positions were allocated to the opposition and one to a member of the governing coalition.

The deputies are elected for the duration of the Parliament.

No Liberal Democrats or members of smaller parties were nominated and the rules also required at least one woman to be elected.

The vote was be conducted under the single transferable vote system, a form of proportional representation.

Unlike the role of Speaker, who is an independent after being elected, Mr Hoyle and Mr Evans will remain members of their own parties and will fight general elections under a partisan banner.

The previous system saw deputies nominated by the leader of the House of Commons.