Vaux Ribblesdale League

PHIL Metcalfe batted through Padiham's innings scoring 62 not out as they went clear at the top of the Vaux Ribblesdale League.

Club professional Mark Harvey captured five wickets as Ribblesdale Wanderers were shot out for 88 to leave Padiham the only club with maximum points.

Barnoldswick were denied the bowling bonus points when their game ended in a downpour of rain in the last over with Edenfield nine wickets down. James Stead and Paul Beech took three wickets each.

Cherry Tree took the honours in a thrilling finish against Great Harwood with professional Naeem Ashraf taking 5-38 as the visitors were bowled out for 98 chasing a target of 102-9 on a tricky wicket.

David Hayes scored 53 and Great Harwood professional Charles Dagnall took five wickets.

Applegarth professional Jonathan Harvey top scored with 57 not out and Chris Walton brought up his half century with two towering sixes to win the match as Earby defeated Baxenden.

Clitheroe took the honours in their match against Read although Malcolm Heyworth took five wickets for the home club.

Oswaldtwistle Immanuel struggled to 93-9 against Settle who secured a seven wicket victory at the Marshfield.

Neil Weaver took five wickets as Whalley struggled to 143-9, but Jason Smith stepped in with a six wicket haul to dismiss Blackburn Northern for 105 to give the home club maximum points.

Results: Barnoldswick 131-6 (5), Edenfield 94-9; Cherry Tree 102-9 (7), Great Harwood 98; Earby 145-2 (5), Baxenden 144-7; Padiham 138-9 (7), Ribblesdale W 88; Read 122-9, Clitheroe 124-9 (5); Settle 94-3 (5), Oswaldtwistle 93-9; Whalley 143-9 (7), Blackburn Northern 105.

Converted for the new archive on 14 July 2000. Some images and formatting may have been lost in the conversion.