EVENT organisers teAMS Hyndburn and Blackburn Angling Association (Black) walked away with the spoils -- and rewarded sponsor AMS's self employed Andrew Filbin with a late Christmas present.

Andrew has invested some of his hard-earned cash into Hyndburn & Blackburn Angling Association and saw both his teAMS finish in a top six position.

Dezzy Forrest, Alan Lord, Damian Brieley & Phil Taylor managed a team total of 16 points, four clear of the opposition, and picked up £200 for their efforts.

Stuart Grey from Accrington came out top rod with 6lb 10oz 15drs with individual fish weighing up to 8 oz each.

He caught from the 10am start and had fish all day until 3pm from behind Cobble Engineering.

His catch consisted of an all Roach weight taken at nine meters fishing with breadpunch for bait, and feeding liquidised bread over the top.

Dezzy Forrest pegged near to Eanam Wharf fished at four meters for a similar weight of fis using the same method.

Unfortunately for Stuart, his fellow team-mates did not fair so well achieving a total team score of 50 points and finishing 11th out of the 20-team entry.

This is the fourth year the event has been staged and interest has never been so high, with a waiting list of eight teams.

The event now attracts some of the best anglers in the North West with teams travelling from Bolton, Rochdale,

Burnley and Wigan to compete for the £500 final team prize -- with £300 for second place and £200 for third.

The remaining rounds will be fished: Round Two, Rishton, Jan 21. Round Three, Clayton, Feb 4. Round Four Tesco's/Church Feb 18. Round Five Rishton, March 4. Round Six Clayton, March 18.

Events are also being run in between the series for more information or to book a peg please phone Dezzy on 01254 689156.

Results -- Individuals on the Day:1. Stuart Grey, Hyndburn match Group, 6 lb10oz 15 drams, £80 2. Dezzy Forrest, teAMS Hyndburn & Blackburn, 6Ilb 4 oz, £60, 3. Dave Pickering, Ted Carters Preston, 5Ilb 13oz, £40 4. Kass Jedd, Des's Four, 5Ilb 2oz 10 drams 5. Steve Gallop, Van Den Eyne Wigan, 4 Ilb 4 oz 8 drams 6. Darren Foreman, Rochdale GTI 4 Ilb 3 oz 8 drams.

Teams on the Day: 1 teAMS Hyndburn & Blackburn A.A. (Black), 16 points, £200 2. Rochdale GTI (Black), 20 pts (2nd on overall weight), £100 3. Van Den Eyne Wigan(Blue), 20 pts, £80 4. teAMS Hyndburn & Blackburn A.A. (Gold), 23 pts 5.Des's Four, 34 Points 6. Lostock Tacle Box 1, 34 pts

Section Winners: A Section -- Kass Jedd, 5 Ilb 2 oz 10 drams, £25. B Section -- Steve Gallop, 4 Ilb 4 oz 8 drams, £25. C Section -- Andrew Shirtcliffe, 2 Ilb 13 oz, £25. D Section -- Alan Lord, 2 Ilb 2 oz 2 drams, £25.