A YEAR ago Penzance and Newlyn were in the position Sedgley Park find themselves in now - it was their debut season in National One and their target was survival.

They achieved it, but not without a struggle, turning around a mid-season slump to finish 10th with 43 points, just six points more than relegated Wakefield.

This season the Pirates opened with a home defeat at the hands of Bristol, going down 20-28 in a close game.

A second defeat, 12-33 against title contenders Pertemps Bees, followed before the corner was turned when they beat Coventry 29-14 at Westholme.

Since then they have made it three wins in a row, with victories at Nottingham (42-21) and last weekend against derby rivals Exeter (15-9).

Victory over Sedgley tomorrow would create a record for them - four consecutive National One wins.

"They have a big bunch of forwards, they scrummage well but they also play 15-man rugby, they're mostly full time so they will be well prepared and fit," said Tigers' player-coach Tim Fourie.

"But we're looking forward to it, we'll be trying to put the ball behind them and put them under pressure and force mistakes.

"We'll probably start with the same line-up and the same guys on the bench, but if things aren't going right by half-time I'll make changes then."


INS: Will James (Plymouth Albion); Duncan Murray (Worcester); Tom Barlow (Plymouth Albion), Wes Davies (Worcester), Rhodri McAtee (Worcester), Ryan Peacey (Saracens), Kevin James (Gwent Dragons), Ben Hilton (Mounts Bay), Lee Jarvis (Gwent Dragons), Matt Evans (Worcester), Tim Cowley (Manchester), Ryan Westren (Mounts Bay), Iva Motusaga (Wellington).

OUTS: Lakalaka Waqanivere (Coventry), Mark Fatialofa (Exeter), Junior Fatialofa (Exeter), Kevin Penrose (Cambourne), Richard Newton (Cambourne), Victor Olonga (Mounts Bay), Lee Soper (Launceston), Gary Becconsall (Truro), Peter Bush (Mounts Bay), Martin Worthington (Mounts Bay), James Shanahan (Italy).

PIRATES: Davies, James, Sweeney, Kelly, Thirlby, Jarvis, Cattle, Cowley, Peacey, Bearman, Whitehead, Morgan, Seal, Ince, Morcom. Replacements: Paver, Makin, Adams, James, Barlow, Pellow, Hilton.