AS the bowling season is nearly over, Lowerhouse bowling club held two competitions for members, the Derek Gawthorpe memorial shield and the John Nicholson trophy.

The winners of the Derek Gawthorpe shield was Brian Smith/ Sandra Roberts and runners-up were Fred Roberts/ Len Cutler.

Mrs Gawthorpe stayed and watched all the games and kindly donated and presented the money to the finalist. The following day was the John Nicholson trophy which was won by Alan Clegg/ David Bridge and runners-up were Peter Cragg/Jimmy Winterflood.