The candidates for a by-election in the Ribble Valley have been announced ahead of the vote next month on the same day as the General Election.

The by-election is taking place in the St Mary's ward in Clitheroe, after councillor Stewart Fletcher resigned to start a new life in Scotland.

The vote will take place on Thursday, July 4, the same day as the General Election, meaning voters in this ward will have two ballot papers to fill in.

Standing in St Mary's are:

  • Andrea Derbyshire - Independent
  • Bill Holden - Labour
  • Mark Sutcliffe - Liberal Democrats
  • Kristian Torgerson - Conservative.

The polling station in St Mary's ward is located at the St Mary Magdalene Church in Church Street, Clitheroe, and will be open from 7am to 10pm on polling day.

Voters have until June 18 to register to vote, June 19 to apply for a postal vote, and June 26 to apply for a proxy vote.

Residents voting in person are reminded they must take a valid form of ID with them to be able to cast a vote.

People who do not have a valid form of ID can apply for a free voter authority certificate and must do so by 5pm on June 26.