The Met Office has issued a yellow weather warning for wind across Lancashire and predicts some areas could see gusts reach 55-60mph.

Areas affected by the stormy conditions include Blackburn with Darwen and Blackpool. 

The warning is in place on Sunday, February 20 and Monday, February 21.

The latest storm follows on from a week in which Storm Dudley and Storm Eunice also impacted the UK, although wind gusts from Storm Franklin are expected to be lower than Eunice which triggered two Red Weather Warnings.  

There is also the possibility of snow on Sunday and Monday, particularly on higher ground. 

Met Office Chief Meteorologist Andy Page said: “Following the significant impacts of Storm Eunice on Friday, Storm Franklin will bring further high winds for many late on Sunday and into Monday, although not on the same scale as Eunice.  

“Coastal areas of Northern Ireland, especially on that north coast, will get the strongest wind gusts, which could be around 80mph in a few places. Amber and Yellow Wind Warnings have been issued, and people should remain cautious ahead of the system that will bring 50-60mph wind gusts for much of the UK from late on Sunday and through Monday.” 

What is a yellow weather warning for wind?

The Met Office warns the following disruption could be experienced during a yellow wind warning:

  • Some damage to buildings, such as tiles blown from roofs, could happen, along with trees/branches being brought down
  • Road, rail, air and ferry services may be affected, with longer journey times and cancellations possible
  • Some roads and bridges may close
  • Power cuts may occur, with the potential to affect other services, such as mobile phone coverage
  • Injuries and danger to life could occur from large waves and beach material being thrown onto sea fronts, coastal roads and properties

Where is the warning in place? 

The Met Office has advised that the following places will be affected by strong winds: 

  • Blackburn with Darwen
  • Blackpool
  • Cheshire East
  • Cheshire West and Chester
  • Cumbria
  • Greater Manchester
  • Halton
  • Lancashire
  • Merseyside
  • Warrington