This photo records the final days of one of Blackburn’s ‘lost’ town centre cinemas. It shows the New Central cinema on the corner of Mincing Lane and Mill Lane.

The site on which it stood had a fascinating past, once being the temporary home for Ohmy’s Circus at the turn of the last century. Te New Central Hall opened in 1900 and was originally used as a roller skating rink before being converted into the 1,000-seat Central Hall Cinema.

As the public appetite for cinema grew, so did the cinema. In 1923 an additional 372 seats were added and it was renamed the New Central Cinema, continuing to show films until 1957 when this picture was taken. It has subsequently been used as a bingo club and a snooker hall