PENDLE Council is set to see its number of area committees cut from five to four.

Its devolved structure means that it currently has five such bodies.

They cover West Craven, Colne and District, Nelson, Barrowford and Western Parishes, and Brierfield and Reedley.

The change has been prompted by the reduction in Pendle Council wards from 20 to 11from May arising from an electoral boundary review, meaning it will no longer be practicable to have five area committees.

This months full borough council meeting recommended that the newly-structured authority being created next year should adopt four area committees in future.

The Conservative group proposed just three area committees while the Liberal Democrats argued for keeping five.

The final decision will be taken by the first meeting after Pendle's Annual Council after the may elections on the new boundaries.