ACCRINGTON Wildcats Rugby League FC has been crowned 'Club of the Year' at the Lancashire Sports Awards.

It was one three prize-winners from Hyndburn at the annual event on Friday at the Dunkenhalgh Hotel in Clayton-le-Moors.

Baxenden St John’s CE Primary School won the title of Lancashire Primary School of the Year.

Accrington Academy were 'Highly Commended' in the Secondary School of the Year Category.

Hyndburn Leisure board member and champion for local sport Anne Elwood said: “The Hyndburn awards represent thousands of people who contribute to sport and physical activity in the borough every year, be it the young achiever competing at a national level or the volunteer who cuts the grass on the pitch week in, week out.

"We’ve got a really strong and vibrant sporting community to be proud of.”

Chris Rushton chair of Accrington Wildcats, said “Everyone at the club feels extremely proud. We believe we offer one of the best value sports in the area."