TODAY's delve in the Lancashire Telegraph archives takes a stroll down the Cherry Tree area of Blackburn.

Entitled 'Tram Terminus, Cherry Tree', this picture dates from after October 1903 when the tramway line reached this point on Preston Old Road on the outskirts of Blackburn.

Previously, the line, opened in 1889, with horse trams, reached only to Witton Stocks.

The row of houses on the right, at the junction with Green Lane, was extended in 1902, according to a plaque placed on it, but none of the new houses is visible yet in this view.

The site of the trees further down the road is now the block of houses and shops between Feniscliffe Drive and Cecilia Road.

In the background, to the right of the trees, the former vicarage of St Francis, Feniscliffe, can be glimpsed.

The tram route to Cherry Tree was converted to buses in April 1939.

Today, the area is served by a railway station, which is unstaffed and where all of its permanent buildings have been demolished, although shelters still survive on both platforms.

Only the western end of each platform is now used, with sections east of the bridge on both sides no derelict.

It has been refurbished in recent years with a clean up and repair project in 2014.