THE 1920/21 season was a memorable one for so many reasons, not least a run of 30 league games without defeat.

It's not surprising that such a phenomenal run of form, which set a record that stood for more than 80 years, resulted in Burnley being crowned champions of the English Football League.

The Clarets' unbeaten run included crushing 7-1 wins over Oldham Athletic and Aston Villa on their way to landing their first league title.

It was an outcome that few would have predicted three games into that season, though, when Burnley were rock bottom without a point to their name.

They had kicked off with a 4-1 defeat at home to Bradford City on the opening day, followed by away losses at Huddersfield and Bradford.

But their fortunes changed, starting with a 3-0 home win over Huddersfield, and although Manchester City broke Burnley's incredible run by beating Burnley 3-0 at Hyde Road 29 games later, the Clarets went one better than the previous season, when they finished in second place, and romped to the title at the end of the second full season after the First World War.

The man who led them to such a feat was captain Tommy Boyle, who Burnley Football Club's official historian, Ray Simpson, describes as "the most influential" player.

"As a captain and inspiration and driving force, the most influential player has to be Tommy Boyle," he said. "The club's fortunes had already started to change when he came and he kept that momentum going."

"He assumed the captaincy straight away and he just drove the team forward with such an energy. The results are there for all to see."

Burnley were champions for the first time in their history with four games remaining. Results had gone their way regardless of a 1-1 draw they earned at Everton on the day.

The 1920/21 squad was: Jerry Dawson, Len Smelt, David Taylor, George Halley, Tommy Boyle, Billy Watson, Bert Freeman, Bob Kelly, Joe Anderson, James Lindsay, Eddie Mosscropp, Frank Birchenough, William Taylor, Walter Weaver, Billy Nesbitt, Benny Cross, Robert McGrory, Clifford Jones, Thomas Brophy, Alf Bassnett, George Douglas, John Lane, Len Moorwood.