SITUATED just two miles to the south east of Clitheroe, this splendid village is split in two by a lovely clear stream, the haunt of dipper and yellow wagtail.

Quite rightly Pendleton is now a designated conservation area.

In 1969 a Bronze Age urn was discovered at Pendleton and is now on display at the Clitheroe Castle Museum.

Before the A59 bypass was built, Pendleton was on the main road and the "Swan With Two Necks", constructed in 1776 was an important coaching inn. The name of the inn seems illogical until you consider artistic licence.

At a time when swans were eaten, they were still protected. Any unmarked swan belonged to the monarch and had to be left alone. Some individuals were allowed to catch swans, but only if they were so marked as cygnets. Marks were scratched on the bill and in 1472 there was a register of swan marks.

The Vitners Company marked their swans bills with two scrabbes. Thus there were "Swans with two Nicks." Artists chose to substitute necks for nicks and so we have a "Swan with Two Necks" at Pendleton and also other places including in the centre of Chorley.

It is easy to see that old Pendleton was a farming community and this has been the case since Saxon times and the settlement was called Penictune.

The word Pendleton obviously means a hamlet (tun) close to Pendle.

It is surprising to find that Pendleton has no ancient church. It had a chapel governed from Whalley until 1947 when All Saints was built. Close to the church is the National School built in 1837 and now in private hands.

Some historians think that money for the early schools was provided to try to improve the lot of working folk after the end of the Napoleonic Wars.

It is sometimes written that Pendleton does not have an old hall. Actually this is not true and the confusion arises because the busy A59 now isolates Standen Hall from the main village. The village was, and still is, owned by the Aspinall family.

Their impressive home is a fine example of a fine old English mansion set in extensive grounds and established as early as Saxon times.

The privacy of the owners should obviously be respected, but there are good views from the now very minor road which runs alongside it.

Ancient Pendleton is and looks venerable and is one of the most unspoiled villages to be found anywhere in England. Don't miss it!

Some gems to look out for

> Look out for Fiddle Bridge now spanning the stream through the village. So named because of its shape, this ancient span was returned to Pendleton from Standen Hall. This was done to celebrate the Millennium and was transported by workers from Castle Cement.

> Close to Coldcoates Hall (now also a farm) is a fascinating grave.

The well named robber called Jeppe Nave was killed by a buxom maidservant as he tried to break in the hall. No local parish would bury him so he was laid to rest where he was felled by the servant's blow.

> Pendleton Old Hall was once the home of nine generations of the de Hoghton family whose main base was at Hoghton Tower near Preston. The de Hoghtons came over from Normandy by William the Conqueror.

> On the outskirts of Pendleton is Wymond houses on the way to Wiswell.

In these foothills the Revd Thomas Jollic (1629-1703) fell out with the established church and founded his then illegal non-conformist religion. Obviously this meant his followers would not conform to church rulings.