EVERY year the cream of East Lancashire’s teachers, pupils, schools and support staff are celebrated at the Lancashire Telegraph’s Schools Awards.

And this year the ceremony at Stanley House Hotel and Spa, Mellor, was one of the best.


From primary school pupils to the unsung hero, who at 73 is determined to continue making an impact on East Lancashire youngsters, it was an inspiring evening.

And the applause rang around the room as the winners picked up their awards.

We received hundreds of nominations from schools in Blackburn, Darwen, Hyndburn, Ribble Valley, Burnley, Pendle, Rossendale and Chorley.

The judges in each category sifted through to find the eventual winners who were all going the extra mile in very different ways.

Fran Winrow, Head of Content at the Lancashire Telegraph, said: “There were so many fantastic stories of teachers, pupils and support staff working so hard to make the state of education in East Lancashire the best it can be.

“Looking around at the teachers, governors and support staff on the night made me realise what good hands our children’s education is in – the constant striving by people of all ages to help, educate and improve was inspiring.

“Their generosity in raising money for those less fortunate than themselves was another theme of the evening.

“Since we launched these awards we have never ceased to be surprised and touched by the nominations – it’s such a great, positive evening to see all the hard work going on in our community and the rewards being reaped by our youngsters.”

The awards were sponsored overall by UCLan, which has campuses in Preston and Burnley.

Dr Jo Heaton-Marriott, head of Communications at the university, said: “Government figures suggest that a young person’s chance of attending university still depends heavily on where they live, their background and whether they are male or female.

“As a university we are committed to breaking down such barriers and supporting progression to Further and Higher Education.”

The full list of winners was:

  • Inspirational Teacher (sponsored by Blackburn with Darwen College) Stuart Beaumont, Longshaw Junior School, Blackburn.
  • Primary School of the Year (sponsored by Tiny Pixels) St Andrew’s CE Primary School, Oswaldtwistle.
  • Primary Head Teacher of the Year (sponsored by Alpha Digital) Jacqui Young, St Stephen’s CE Primary, Blackburn.
  • Primary School Pupil of the Year (sponsored by First Class Learning) Owen Sharples, Whittlefield Primary, Burnley.
  • Secondary School of the Year (sponsored by Myerscough College) Pleckgate High School, Blackburn.
  • Secondary Head Teacher of the Year (which was sponsored by Key Stage) Richard Varey at Blessed Trinity RC College, Burnley.
  • Secondary School Pupil of the Year (sponsored by Nelson Colne College) Lewis Partington, Darwen Aldridge Community Academy (DACA) Special School of the Year (sponsored by Precious Moments) Newfield School, Blackburn Special School Pupil of the Year (sponsored by Teaching Personnel) Thomas Palmowski, Broadfield Specialist School, Oswaldtwistle.
  • Unsung Hero (sponsored by BAE Systems) Les Ince, Darwen Aldridge Community Academy (DACA).
  • Lifetime Achievement (sponsored by the University of Central Lancashire) Trish Burns, Peel Park Primary School, Accrington.

To find out more about the winners click on the link http://www.lancashiretelegraph.co.uk/education_zone/education_awards/