A total of nine schools took part in eight races as they battled it out for individual and team honours at the Blackburn and Darwen Secondary Schools cross country championships.

In the Year 7 races, St Bede’s dominated with Kacp’r Gluc winning the boys race and Maddie Elliott victorious in the girl’s. St Bede’s strength in the boys race was demonstrated as they had nine runners in the top 15 to comfortably win the Year 7 boys’ team trophy.

In the girls team event, St Bede’s were again the champions with five of their runners finishing in the top 15. Alexa McTiffin from Westholme came home first in the Year 8/9 girls race with Westholme also taking the Team honours. In the boy’s Year 8/9 race, Byron Abbott from St Bede’s took the individual honours with St Bede’s again taking the team prize.

Connor Mahoney from Witton School crossed the line first in boys year 10/11 race with Katie Buckingham from St Wilfrid’s coming home ahead of the field in the girl’s race.

Team honours went to Westholme in the girl’s and St Wilfrid’s in the boy’s competition. It was a good day for the Mahoneys as Dominic won 6th Form boys title. In the girls 6th form race Katie Buckley from Westholme was the winner. Team Honours went to St Wilfrid’s in both the Boys and Girl’s competitions.

School Games Organiser, Andrew Mercer, praised St Bede’s staff for helping to make sure the Witton Park event ran smoothly.