England could still change World Cup pot

ENGLAND will be among an unseeded pot of European countries for Friday's draw for the 2014 World Cup finals, organisers have confirmed.

FIFA has announced the procedure of the draw and as expected the eight seeded teams, who will be kept apart for the group stage, have been chosen according to October's world rankings.

The draw will be organised so that there will be no more than two European teams in any group of four countries, and all the South American teams will be kept apart.

At the start of the draw, one team from Pot 4 will be drawn at random and placed into Pot 2 to balance things out. The European team which ends up in Pot 2 is already guaranteed to be put in the same group as a South American team from Pot 1.

England boss Roy Hodgson has revealed he is more concerened by where his team will be based rather than the potential opponents.

He said: “I’m more concerned by the venues than by the teams we draw.

“You always hope the draw is going to be kind to you in terms of where you are going to be asked to play.”

"There are venues in Brazil that will be harder to play in than others."

The pots in full: Pot 1: Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Colombia, Germany, Spain, Switzerland, Uruguay Pot 2: Algeria, Cameroon, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Nigeria, Chile, Ecuador (plus one currently in Pot 4) Pot 3: Australia, Iran, Japan, South Korea, Costa Rica, Honduras, Mexico, USA Pot 4: Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, England, France, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Russia (one team will be drawn into Pot 2).

n The draw takes place at 4pm UK time on Friday.


Comments are closed on this article.


Get Adobe Flash player
About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree