It has been a very successful week for our local racing cyclists – and we should include Sky’s Lancashire-based Bradley Wiggins in that after he claimed his second successive Criterium Dauphine stage race success in France as part of his build up for the Tour de France which starts in two weeks time.

On north west roads, Burnley’s Mick Ellerton was fastest of an entry of 120 for the Lancaster Cycling Club 10-mile time trial on the Levens course with a 20 minute 36 seconds ride with our next best being Pendle Forest’s Jason Bateman in 10th slot with 21-19.

The result may well have been different had last man off and favourite for this race Olympic hopeful Steven Burke of Colne not given his apologies for not starting.

Another Burnley rider, Richard Sagar, was winner of the third and fourth category event at the mid-week Cycling Development North West circuit race at the Preston Arena with yet another Burnley rider, Aidan Holgate, finishing third with both being members of the North Lancashire Road Club.

The North Lancashire and Lakes group of Veterans held their 25 mile time trial on a new course based on the Clitheroe by-pass with Liverpool visitor Paul Grindley fastest in a time of 54 minutes and seven seconds, with our East Lancashire riders close up with Jason Bateman second in 55-02, Darwen’s Ian Cox third with 55-29, Burnley’s Peter Greenwood sixth in 56-22 and Blackburn’s Fraser Snape eighth in 57-25.

The West Pennine 25 mile near Cockerham had John Morgan of Preston Wheelers setting a new course record with 55m 13s with previous record holder Greenwood third in 56-37, Blackburn and District CTC’s Chris Edmondson sixth with 57-53 and Snape eighth with 58-34.

Snape was backed up by Stuart Timmins (1-03-19) and Austin Foy (1-03-25) to take the Team award for the North Lancs Road Club.

Paul Warrener of Waterfoot was winner of his own Rossendale Road Club 10 mile on the tough Hapton course in a time of 25 minutes 16 seconds which shows a return to form after a slower than usual start for him this season.

Second was the rapidly improving Mick Wood of the Clitheroe Bike Club only 20 seconds behind in 25-36 then two Rossendale members Roy Flanagan (26-19) and Christian Loney (26-31).