The Easter 10-mile Time Trial promoted by the North Lancashire Road Club on the Garstang course was its usual success with the fastest time – and with it the Michael Pryce Memorial Trophy – going to junior rider Alex Royle with a superb 20 minute 50 second performance.

Royle, who this year is riding for Brockhall Village-based Science-in-Sport, who were also sponsors of the event, had clocked a personal best the previous day (Good Friday) of 19m 47s – or 30mph plus – on a course near Hull.

Fraser Snape won the North Lancs’ club 2011 10-mile title with 22-12 and, with Duncan Park (22-17) and David Clough (22-44 and Vet50), his club were winners of the team award.

Of other local riders, Rossendale’s Paul Warrener was ninth in 22-39, Peter Briscoe Vet55 (22-59) and Stan Riley Vet60 (23-29), while Teresa Taylor of Preston Wheelers took the Christine Goodfellow Memorial Trophy as fastest lady in 24-55.

In the mid-week 25 mile of the Veteran Time Trial Association near Cockerham, Egerton’s Frank Kerry won the event on ‘Age Standard’ by clocking an impresssive 1 hour 4 minutes 16 seconds which is 21 mins 22 seconds better than the standard set for his age of 75.

The North Lancashire Road Club were team winners on Age Standard thanks to Harry Haseley 1-05-07, Bob Matthews 1-01-53 and Sue Cheetham 1-07-53.

Things may well have been different had Dave Hargreaves not been in an accident with a tractor and been air-lifted to Lancaster Hospital where he was released after five nights.

The midweek Pendle Forest 6.25 mile TT was won by their Ian Duckworth in 14-58 then Hamish Graham 15-08, Peter Haigh 17-27 and Jason Nicholson 18-00.

The Rossendale Road Club Tuesday evening TT’s start next week on the Hapton course.