OLYMPIANS and Paralympians had to settle for a supporting role as the best of amateur sport were honoured at the annual MWR Lancashire Sports Awards.

Olympic stars Sam Murray and Jon Schofield – who both won medals at London 2012 – pole vaulter Holly Bleasdale, along with Graeme Ballard, a silver medal winner in the Paralympics, were among the stars who handed out awards at the glitzy ceremony at Preston Guild Hall.

And it was a night to remember for East Lancashire who won six of the eight categories – and also picked up four highly commended awards.

Dean Sumner of Clitheroe Dolphins was named coach of the year, Accrington Girls and Ladies FC were named Community Club of the year while Brunshaw Primary in Burnley won the school of the year award.

“This award is for the 450 pupils at the school,” said delighted teacher Neil Tranmer. “They are extremely dedicated to sport and make our job that much easier.”