LAMMACK Juniors denied Mill Hill a hat-trick of cup wins and their manager Nathan Sargeson the perfect send-off.

The Mill HIll manager was stepping down after six trophy laden seasons – including two LFA trophies – to concentrate on other projects.

But Lammack clearly hadn’t read the script as they pulled off something of a shock win against a side who had finished nine points ahead of them in the league.

In what proved to be a cagey affair, it was Lewis Nixon’s well executed volley early in the second half that separated the sides.

Lammack were in to their stride the quicker of the sides and Mill Hill keeper Henry Bunting-Jones was forced in to a smart save in the opening minute to deny Oliver Parkinson.

But Mill Hill, cup winners in 2012 and 13, survived the early scare and were soon in the contest. Maaz Gurjee flashed a shot across goal before Lammack keeper Aiden Whitehead produced a fine save to deny George Carus.

Back came Lammack and Bunting-Jones held on to an Ethan Charlesworth free kick at the second attempt while, at the other end, Whitehead got himself in a spot of bother when he carried the ball out of his area. But Gurjee could not keep his free kick down as the half closed out scoreless.

However, the breakthrough finally arrived in the first meaningful attack of the second half.

Charlesworth swung in a free kick that caused confusion in the Mill Hill area and Nixon reacted quickest to the loose ball, scoring with a fine volley.

Mill Hill upped the pressure and Safwan Hassan’s speedy counter attack was ended by a fine tackle by Callum Boardman.

But Lammack were in no mood to surrender their lead and were looking to double it, Bunting-Jones was again called in to action to keep out a header from Oliver Parkinson.

And in midfielder Harry Dowson, they had a player who was battling for the cause, either as an attacking force or tackling back to help his defence.

But Mill Hill were scrapping too and Gurjee’s fine strike was well held by Whitehead while the powerful and direct Elnazir, who came on at the break, got the ball stuck under his feet after good work by Ditch and the shooting chance had gone.

And when Harry Sagar’s late header missed the target, Mill Hill’s hopes of a treble and Sarge’s perfect send off were gone and Lammack were crowned deserved winners.

n Lammack Juniors: Aiden Whitehead, James Geldard, Ryan McLean, Callum Boardman, Ethan Charlesworth, Harry Howson, Alex Kay, Lewis Nixon, Callum Newton, Harry Bedford, Oliver Parkinson. Subs: Michael Threlfall, Sam Pope, Liam Swarbrick, Harry Tyson n Mill Hill JFC: Henry Bunting-Jones, Mason Hunt, Andy Beets, George Caton, Mohammed Zehn, Finton Kilpatrick, Maaz Gurjee, George Carus, Ben Hordman, Daniel Barron, Brad Ditch. Subs: Harry Sagar, Elnazir, Safwan Hassan.