Burnley under 11s travelled to Tarleton to play their under 12s for their final match of this season.

What followed was an epic battle of two contrasting halves!

Tarleton started strongly, scoring a try in the opening minute after exploiting an overlap on the wing.

This was successfully converted to make the opening score 7-0.

A second and third try followed shortly afterwards with some great support play from Tarleton.

With failed conversion attempts from both the score stood at 17-0 in the first five minutes.

Burnley regrouped however and despite some big tackles from Toby Cole, Harry Nicholls and Patrick Hudson, Tarleton capitalised on their size advantage scoring two more converted tries.

Despite trailing 31-0 at half time the Burnley players refused to give up.

The second half started with yet another Tarelton converted try in the opening minute.

Some great offensive pressure from Patrick Hudson and defensive play by Charly Haynes however stopped another score.

Burnley then took the fight back to Tarelton with a great maul, pushing the opposition back into their goal area.

Tom Graveston and captain Max Cudworth both crashed over to give Burnley their first score.

Charly Haynes converted the try to make the score 38-7.

This ignited a fire in the Burnley players with tries following from Liam Bythell, who powered over with two of their players on each arm and captain Max Cudworth, following some great individual running.

The reliable boot of Charly Haynes converted both tries comfortably to make the score 38-21. Burnley looked again threatening but Jaden Riley got taken down only yards from their goal area.

A surprised Tarleton regrouped and again tested the Burnley defence and were awarded with only their second try of the half to make the final score 45-21.

Coaches from both teams praisied the tenacity and determination of the Burnley players.

Man of the match was awarded to Patrick Hudson for his brilliant defensive work and coaches player went to captain Max Cudworth for driving the team and some fine individual work.

A special recognition was also given to ‘the pack’ Harry Nichols, Spencer Wilkes, Liam Bythell, Edan Fielding-Phethean and Tom Graveston.