CLAYTON-LE-MOORS Harriers duo Chris Holdsworth and Breton Holdsworth pushed winner Ben Lindsay all the way in Sunday’s inaugural Ron Hill Accrington 10k.

Lindsay, who is not attached to a club, claimed first place in 34 minutes and 20 seconds but he was given a run for his money by Harriers duo Chris and Breton, who were second and third in 35mins 30secs and 36mins respectively.

A host of East Lancashire runners made the top 20 with Accrington Road Runners ace Chris Walton coming home in 12th in 38mins 24secs.

Third-fastest M50 Paul Gallagher was 13th in 38mins 25secs, Trawden AC’s Graham Rose (14th in 38mins 36secs) Chris Quigley (17th in 38mins 48secs), Darwen Dashers’ Martin Oldfield (third-fastest M40 and 15th in 38mins 40secs), Rossendale Harriers’ Alan Lundberg-Bury (16th in 38mins 43secs), and Chorley Athletic and Triathlon Club’s Robert Walsh (20th in 39mins 28secs).

The legendary Ron Hill MBE, who the new annual event is named after, crossed the line in 59mins 27secs.

That ensured the Accrington-born three-time Olympian, aged 75, finished 310th wearing the colours of Clayton-le-Moors Harriers.

Julie Brady was the first female home and 48th overall in 42mins 32secs after seeing off her Accrington Road Runners clubmate Deborah Gowans, who was the second female over the line, and the fastest F40, in 50th overall in 42mins 44secs.

Also in action for the Accrington club were James Osborne (66th in 43mins 43secs), Damian Fletcher (75th in 44mins 15secs), Julia Hartley (second-fastest F40 and 96th in 45mins 31secs), Lisa Parker (105th in 46mins 17secs), Keith Robinson (137th in 48mins 30secs), Joanne Hosker (142nd in 49mins 2secs), Nancy Bailey (second-fastest F50 and 152nd in 49mins 35secs), Leslie Redfearn (163rd in 50mins 15secs), Meriel Woodward (186th in 52mins 12secs), John Wieczorek (202nd in 53mins 25secs), Peter Blackledge (210th in 53mins 41secs), Maxine Morton (268th in 57mins 5secs), Colette Mallabourn (281st in 58mins 10secs), Janet Holye (286th in 58mins 20secs), Stewart Keighley (287th in 58mins 23secs), Shelley Elliott (292nd in 58mins 31secs), Rachel Wilcock (345th in one hour, 3mins 48secs) and Lauren West (348th in 1hr, 4mins).

Stephen Biscomb was the fastest M60 and 33rd overall in 41mins 40secs while there were also age group wins for two of his fellow Clayton-le-Moors Harriers runners, Ted Orrell (fastest M70 and 178th in 51mins 23secs) and Marion Wilkinson (fastest F70 and 269th in 57mins 8secs).

Ribble Valley Triathlon Club’s Jay Waddington was 31st in 41mins 25secs while Ribble Valley AC’s Paul Smith was 246th in 55mins 47secs).

Paul Clarke (55th in 42mins 58secs) and Paul Wilkinson (98th in 45mins 40secs) were first home for Blackburn Road Runners and Blackburn Harriers respectively while Peter Murphy led the way for Darwen Running Group as he came 155th (49mins 47secs).

A total of 409 runners completed the race, which was watched by more than 1,000 spectators.